We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Norfolk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmer Browns - CLOSED

Farmer Browns
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: Spanish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Farmer Browns will be undergoing a refurbishment indefinitely.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste of Norfolk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went on Monday night to have the taste of Norfolk - all you can eat buffet menu. We came a couple of months ago as we heard of it through recommendation and it was brilliant! The menu chioce was great, the service was lovely and the atmosphere was nice! On Monday, I didnt like the menu choice as much and a couple of the dishes were slightly burnt however the menu choice is just down to what I like so cant complain at that! The service was good this time too. Very good value for money and have recommended it to many of my friends and also plan on having our hockey social there in December!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missusgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    12
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quality...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

It really is the quality of the produce used in the kitchen that shines what otherwise wouldn't break your stride.

We sat in the dining room where the kitchen is housed and although the table wasn't quite cleared from the previous diners, it was a busy Friday lunchtime. The menu is interesting and although not exactly overburdened with choice, there's enough to tantalise interest. The black pudding that accompanied the pigeon breast was the best I've ever tried. My chicken and mango salad was divine and the beef burger in a brioche excellent. The wine list is okay but with a leaning to new world and a decent Chardonnay from New Zealand was put on the table with a glass of Argie Malbec to make the beef sing a little. The desert choice was limited and didn't manage to tempt either of us.

I've looked at their website and realise that there's a lot more to this place than lunch. They have great seasonal celebration menus and dinner looks scrumptious. http://farmerbrowns.co.uk/#home

Excellent value for money and good food too.

Such a shame we have a five year old who's not quite ready for dinner out and I can't stay sober past 18:00 hrs. Maybe a mistress is called for? Applications to the wife please.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XIA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having no luck finding somewhere for a late lunch we stumbled across Farmer Browns. The set lunch menu was 2 courses for £12.00 and you could choose to have starter/main or main/dessert. It was a fairly small choice but we liked this as it usually means that the food will be well cooked and the ingredients are fresh. As one of us is restricted to a gluten free diet we felt this choice may prove a problem - but it was not. The staff were quick to confirm what was suitable and they were more than happy to adapt. We chose a bottle of white wine which tasted good and was a reasonable price. The mains arrived and were all around excellent - good quality and were really tasty. The desserts were just as good and they adapted the choccy dessert to suit for the GF diet - even with gluten free crumbs - very good of the chef. We felt that this meal was excellent value. The place is a little odd in styling but the chef here seems to be doing the right things - so we wish you all the best of luck developing the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, the service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant during a lunchtime trip to Norwich. Considering we were the only ones in the place when we arrived the service was a bit on the slow side. The food on the other hand was excellent. Certainly worth another visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The food was good and well presented, the restaurant was very quiet, when others all around were very busy, because it was quiet we had a relaxing evening. However under the circumstances one would have expected the service to be excellent - which it was not, the waitresses were not at all attentive, in fact one spent a lot of time chatting on the telephone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmer Browns also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Horning, Norwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing