We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep for good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here frequently and would choose this above other hotels in the city. I always get a warm welcome from the reception staff, and find the rooms very comfortable. I've never had a problem with too much noise from outside. The Table Table restaurant is good value for money with typical pub grub on the menu, and a Premier Inn breakfast is always good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is located ideally just 5mins walking from city centre....however.... If a good nights sleep is what you are after then stay away from the riverside rooms. There is a very busy main road by the river which leads to lots of late night eateries close by. As a result there are plenty of late night/early morning revellers passing by. If the hotel were to install proper double glazing this would not be an issue. Until they do though, be warned.
Staff very friendly and helpful, food in restaurant very good and excellent value. Parking onsite was plentiful and free.
All in all, aside from the noise it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

nice hotel , very close to all attractions , ideal base for shopping and sight seeing , I have stayed in this hotel previously and found it to be comfortable and warm , breakfast is good with lots of choice , table table restaraunt is basic and really cant compete with restaraunt choice's on its doorstep, I would not recommend the evening meals they are very basic and poor value , plenty of parking space and very helpful staff , I have paid a lot more and had less so all in all a very reasonable place to stay ,and child friendly .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good hotel in a convenient location. Good sized room, very clean and comfy bed. Free parking which saves a small fortune over a weekend. Breafast was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HellsBells45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in Norwich for a birthday night out. The hotel is located right across the street from the train station and provides free car parking. It is a great location for the Riverside and a short walk into the city centre. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance. We paid £77 for a double room without breakfast on the Premier Inn website. The room was clean and had tea facilites, a bottle opener, hairdyer, and extra pillows. We needed an iron and ironing board and these were brought to our room from reception straight away. The satff were very friendly and helpful. The room looked out over the river which was nice and it wasnt too noisy even on a saturday night. We would stay here again,

Room Tip: You definitely want a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echoklima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here for work.

The location is quite good as there are a lot of restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk.

Rooms are average, bed was quite creaky. Bathroom smelt of industrial bleach, towels were very rough. There was a portable heater which was nice as the weather was freezing. Housekeeping wasn't great, my bins were not emptied once during my 4nt stay.

Breakfast was standard, simply fry up, pastries and bread, cereals and yoghurt. Coffee was not great but was ok.

Staff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Came up for the football . Frist time we have used the Hotel the staff were very friendly and Helpful overall had a excellent weekend will defo be staying again .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing