We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, shame about breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hi, we stayed here on Saturday 17th March, no complaints whatsoever about the hotel and its staff.
Our problem was with our paid for up front breakfast, we got downstairs about 08.45 and were instantly seated. As its a buffet style eat as much as you like type, we went to the drinks section first, all was well with that.
Then onto the main event, firstly there were no eggs in any shape or form, offers were invited on the menu to have an omelette but i decided to go for scrambled. Then i was told, scrambled was going to be filled up in a minute and i didnt need to order it. Oh good, i thought, and started loading my plate, having asked twice more as still no eggs, i decided to sit down and start again when the eggs arrived. In the meantime my husband had now eaten his so went to enquire about my eggs, in total we went 7 times to at least 3 different members of staff, but all to no avail. In the end i decided to have my breakfast without eggs so as not to keep hubby waiting any longer.
This was a shame really because as i said earlier, the hotel was fine, we did mention this on check out and am happy to say that Premier Inn deducted the cost of both breakfasts, it will not put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldie-Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location was ideal as we travelled by train and did not want to trek to a hotel with child and suitcases, so a hotel opposite the railway station was manna from heaven and easy access to the city centre as well. Our room overlooked the river. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and caring of our granddaughter. Job done.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Walking distance from the city centre, almost adjacent to the station, with a good restaurant (Table Table) attached; good bed, good breakfast. Easy access to the (surprisingly interesting, with a guide book) Riverside Walk.

We were on the "car park" side of the hotel and noise - on a Norwich City home match weekend - was minimal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter (which matters through the night); those facing the river are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndytheBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Premier Inn provides its usual good value and a central location overlooking the river and opposite the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Myself & my wife stayed here for 2 nights for a short break. I asked for a nice room with a view of the river, and I wasn't disappointed. We not only had a fab view of the river & gardens but also a balcony, the weather was amazing so this was a lovely touch. The staff were all polite and very professional. Also the Nelson bar below was extremely reasonable, we didn't eat here but what we saw of the food being served it all looked a good standard.
You will be hard pushed to find a better stay in Norwich. Amazing value for money. Thankyou to all that made our visit a special one.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walterz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great value and great location. The hotel is across the road from Norwich Railway Station and 5 minutes walk from the city centre, shops and cathedral. The setting is great and picturesque on the River Wensum. If you are travelling by car then there is free parking outside the hotel. If you are arriving by train then you have to walk all the way around to the back of the hotel to find the entrance. The staff at the hotel were all very welcoming and friendly both in reception, restaurant and bar. The hotel is one of the more older Premier Inns so the room was not the most modern. Having said that is was clean and basic and had everything in order which was fine. There is no hearing in the room so there is a separate heater. This could be a potential issue if travelling with a young family. The hotel appeared to be mainly business travellers on this mid week stay. Make sure you book well in advance to take advantage of the good deals. All in all I would recommend this for anyone staying in Norwich especially if arriving by train. Hotel was quiet other than the usual noise from other guests in the corridor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the railway station side look onto the river and so are away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

this is a good hotel in a great location situated right on the canal.Parking is free and the staff helpful & friendly.
If you like Thai food there is a boat moored across the canal that has been turned into a Thai restaurant, I did not have time to eat there so if anyone has, perhaps they could review it if not done already.
There is a supermarket right by it in case you forgot anything !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing