We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by the Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the saver rate so very good value, room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, would probably have been noisier with a river facing room due to restaurant/bar underneath. Room very clean and tidy as always with Premier Inn, no complaints. Restaurant was very busy at breakfast time and sometimes we had to wait while they restocked some of the items, but food was fine, also quite busy in the evenings but not too long a wait. The location was on the southern outskirts of the city centre with a lot of nightclubs and bars in close proximity so it may have not have been a very nice area to be around late at night, but fine if you were staying in the hotel. As a location could have bben better but overall not too bad for us.

Room Tip: Choose a rear facing room for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for one night at this hotel whilst visiting friends. Normal Premier Inn value and quality. Some people sneer at PI but I have paid considerably more money and got far worse quality and service. They are clean, warm, safe and great value. This particular hotel is located right in the middle of the city and the staff were lovely.

We booked in advance and paid £29 which is a joke price for what you get. Breakfast is on top of this but was pretty good and you could eat as much as you wanted.

I have given this 5 stars. Clearly it isn't a 5 star hotel but it 5 star value and quality, hence the rating. Recommended

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Irvingogringo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you are visiting Norwich and want budget accomodation, look no further.

I semi-regularly visit Norwich and if I stay over night, I always book here.

Clean, well situated, good parking, great breakfast, very nice bar and restaurant.

My rating and the above comments are relative to the price and type of hotel this is. It's not a health club. It's not got classic features. It's not pretty from the outside, but for shopping, partying, golfing, football etc it is spot on, and for a budget hotel it is very very nice inside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJamesE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently spent a 3-day break at The Nelson City Centre Premier Inn.and can guarantee if want a perfectly placed hotel for sight-seeing in Norwich, this is the one for you.
Situated right on the River Wensum, if you are lucky enough to get a riverside room, the view at day and night is fantastic. We had Room 415, and although being situated almost next to the road/bridge, it wasn't too noisy, and the views more than made up for it.
The city centre with its array of churches and excellent scenery, is well within walking distance, as is the local retail park which includes an Odeon cinema and several eating places.
I mention the restaurants as unfortunately the service at the on-site Table Table is a little slow at meal-times, particularly morning times when the staff seemed to struggle with the amount of guests needing breakfast. On the second morning we had to wait 20 minutes for breakfast to arrive.
This may I add was the only black mark during the stay.The room was upto the usual Premier Inn standard, so no complaints there, free car-parking, and the hotel had it's own gardens for a relaxing short walk or sit to watch the boats go by.
We will certainly return to this Premier Inn again in the near future

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverside for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thfcmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I am always a little wary of booking 'chain' hotels but this one was great. We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend (charity cycle ride round Norfolk) and found the room/facilities were fantastic. I managed to get a family sized room with a balcony looking over the river (room 125). Much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p199132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

stayed for one night for break.hotel very smart location fantastic on the river.room very clean bit smaller than some premier inn rooms we have stayed in.dinner in table table was very good as was the srvice.pity cant say the same about breakfast.worst thing ever had service disgusting no bacon,eggs,hash browns. burnt sausage.cold beans.if you go to this hotel get room overlooking river.ours overlooked carpark no sleep for the noise. some of it from staff having ciggi break.

Room Tip: get room away from carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gth2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This premier Inn has the advantage of being close to the City Centre, closer still to the rail station and right next to the river.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but there are a number of negative issues that my wife and I encountered.
The only lift is located at the far end of the corridor to reception. Why make everone arriving or leaving with luggage, and wishing to use the lift, walk past every room in the corridor on the ground floor disturbing the guests? The lift should be at reception.
The room was considerably smaller than I was expecting, although the bed was of good quality. There were signs that the room had not been cleaned properly before our arrival, including marks on the toilet seat. The flat screen TV was defective and clearly had not just become so.
There is building work going on next door which seems to start at 0730hrs and is quite noisy, yet we were not warned in advance.
On the second night of our stay four young persons in the car park disturbed our sleep for an hour at 0330hrs. Staff must have been aware of them but did nothing to move or quiten them.
On the first morning we opted for a a continental style breakfast, but wished that we had not. The orange juice was so poor it tasted like squash. The crumpets had run out 40 mins before the end of service and the croissants were not worthy of the name. They do not offer ham or cheese. Ok it didn't cost much, but it was no value.
We also used the restaurant one evening to take away what should have been two (different style) chicken burgers but they couldn't get that right and one turned out to be beef when back in the room.
You might think that I should have given this hotel a lower rating, but, despite the bad points, the overall experience was just enough to merit 'average.'

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by our Customer Services Team and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing