We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table Table”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Came here for lunch, not only was it very reasonably priced, portions were spot on not too large not too small, something for everybodys taste, would definitely like to return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

We're really pleased that your enjoyed your visit to our TableTable Restaurant and the many choices available on our Menu. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fabulous review and I do hope we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Nelson is very convenient for shopping and sightseeing around Norwich, it is conveniently situated opposite the railway station. There is a sightseeing bus which departs from Theatre Street hourly and the Castle, shopping centres and market are all nearby. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentyful and nicely presented. There is no charge for parking even though the hotel is in a prime city position and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're pleased you had a good time at the Hotel and got to see so much of Norwich after enjoying our great value 'All you can Eat' Premier Breakfast. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Excellent friendly service, wonderful location beside the river, free parking, and good reasonably priced meals, what more could one want.

Room Tip: Difficult, lovely views of the river, south side of the building but you can experience a little roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonPeglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the great value in our TableTable Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon and we'll be happy to locate you in the garden facing room away from the road if you contact us direct at the Hotel prior to your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We experienced excellent, friendly service and a very nice spacious and clean room. The location is superb for those travelling by train. The room rate was an incredible value: my wife couldn't believe how nice the room was given the rate I paid!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for your fabulous comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy the service you received, the room, our great value and the location of our Hotel. We do hope we can welcome you back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our first visit to a Premier Inn (see below), The Nelson was primarily chosen for its convenient location.
Areas near city railway stations can be rather dubious but Norwich is an exception. The fairly modern hotel is just across the river from the station and has good onsite free parking. (The T.A. map showed incorrect location at time of writing, the hotel is riverside). On the station side of the river, just a short walk from the hotel, is a large, very new, leisure development with a wide selection of restaurants, cinema etc.
The hotel itself was clean and smart throughout, the bedroom and bathroom both quite large, if a little Spartan. Hotel staff were pleasant and mostly efficient. (Just one minor exception).
The in-house “TableTable” restaurant was of a good standard for a chain restaurant, the food OK and staff pleasant and helpful.
Overall all you could expect from a cheapish chain hotel.
Be aware that this hotel has 4 floors and the lift is “having maintenance”. This appears to consist of a major refurbishment, little is left of the lift or shaft, which has pretty permanent looking boarding all around it. I don’t think it will be in service any time soon.
My reason for avoiding Premier Inns is demonstrated by the large “Rooms from £29” banner outside the main entrance. I’ve checked prices for every day over the next six months and guess what? I couldn’t find a room for £29 here. So I have little confidence in their integrity.
They also offer a “Meal Deal”, £44 for the two of us for a breakfast (included in some other chains) and evening meal each. Check the P.I. online menus and local alternatives for other good (better?) options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are having a new lift installed in one part of the Hotel at present which is due to be completed mid August giving quicker and more convenient access to the three floors above the Restaurant area, although there is an entirely different area of the Hotel which is totally unaffected with a full working lift,

I am sorry you haven't been able to obtain one of our £29 Rooms but I do assure you that these are available through our website in advance. May I suggest that you sign up to receive pre-alerts for our Room Sales, which are available regularly on a limited availability first come, first served basis. Many people are already signed up to receive these notifications as this offer is very popular, so I assume this to be the reason that you haven't managerd to book one to date.

Please don't hesitate to contact us direct at the Hotel to find out how to do this or if you are unable to book one though, and we'll be very happy to help, and I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed in spacious, well planned room overlooking river. Good parking facilities - and river side restaurant/bar. The point to recommend this hotel over others was the excellent service from front of house to housekeeping. Thank you all.

Room Tip: For me the overlooking river was lovely although I did overhear another guest asking for room overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diner19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

An excellent choice. Book early for good rates! Staff very helpful, good Table Table Restaurant and well positioned in Norwich, directly opposite railway station.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northerner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your great comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to our Tabletable restaurant. Please don't hesitate to contact us direct and we'll be happy to give you a first floor room when you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing