We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to the usual standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not up to the usual standard”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

just got back from 1 nights stay at this hotel and it was a nightmare.
The lifts arent working on one side of the hotel ,the fire alarm kept going of i was just about to get in the shower and two workmen walked into my room and started to measure up for cupboards.
The dinner was a joke the food was burnt thats when it finnally arrived and the beer pumps kept cutting of.
Complained about the food they did nothing ! complained about the workmen they did nothing avoid this hotel till it has had it refurb.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boothy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated..

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    663
    140
    37
    25
See reviews for
371
715
113
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here for the second time and it was every bit as good as the first. I stayed with my wife and step-son for four nights for a friend's wedding in the city. We also took the opportunity to be tourists for a few days.

The location is fantastic, two minutes from the station and just across the river from the Riverside development which has many bars, restaurants and clubs. (The area can be a bit noisy at weekends) There is a great traditional pub called the Compleat Angler just across the road where you can sit by the river and enjoy good food and excellent beer. 5-10 minutes up Prince of Wales Road (also lined with bars and clubs - avoid Friday and Saturday nights unless you want to party) takes you to the old city centre which is full of good shopping, restaurants and some of the best Real Ale pubs in the country

The area is also good for visiting the tourist sites of Norwich. If you want an alternative view of Norwich Cathedral, go through the terrace of the Compleat Angler and down the steps to the path by the river. This will lead you along the river to the bottom of the Cathedral Close. Walking through the Close to the city centre is a peaceful alternative to Prince of Wales Road.

Check in was cheerful and friendly. £181 for a family room for 4 nights is very reasonable.

The room was large, clean and comfortable - second floor right at the end with a balcony and a side view of the river. It had been properly made up with a pull out bed prepared for our son - it annoys me how many hotels fail to do this even if you have clearly booked a room for three.

Not much to say about the bathroom - it was a good size and clean with plenty of hot water.

We didn't sample the breakfast as there are some cafes nearby and lots in the city centre.

All in all a very pleasant stay at a very good price

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor and facing the river, Some even have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNY99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Many thanks for your great review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you enjoyed the wedding! It's good that you managed to be a 'tourist' for a couple of days too, there's so much to see and do in Norwich!

Thank you also for your comments about the great value room, our housekeeping and the location of the Hotel, I hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canewdon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I love coming here i live in the countryside with my two teen sons on a farm and when you visit norwich its like history and future culture collide ..there is so much to do from castles-museums-odeon -vue -shopping-bowling- resurants.. so much more i come to premier inn often and recently with my eldery parents they loved it as much as us and want to come again. Premier inns show up some of these so called 5 star hotels the rooms and food and staff are amazing friendly and cant do enough for you . We cant wait to come again in oct half-term . The nelson is so central to everywhere there is a great Chinese 4mins walk away for buffet lunch and the 3 course meal in the table table of P I is great try the steak

Room Tip: family rooms with a balcony are a must ..on any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynorbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We're so happy that you enjoy staying with us and have made this your second home!

Many thanks for your lovely comments about our customer service, the rooms and the food and we're pleased your parents love staying too. We'll be very happy to welcome you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

It's a Premier Inn - pretty much says it all!
This hotel is in a great location by the river and at the end of Prince of Wales Road. Our room was a decent size and the bathroom was huge by modern hotel standards. The room had the usual generic Premier fixtures and fittings which were as you would expect them to be; clean, tidy and functional.
The staff were all friendly and the receptionist took the time to explain our location in relation to bars, restaurants and shops when we checked in and told her we were new to Norwich.
The city center shops are about a 10 minute stroll up the road. Prince of Wales Road seems to be the main nightclub area so the hotel is ideally situated if that is your thing, We did wonder if there would be excessive late night noise due to the proximity of so many clubs, but this did not seem to be a problem, though walking through crowds of drunks and stepping over homeless beggars on the way back to the hotel may not be everyone's cup of tea.
If you cross over the river from the hotel and turn to the right you come to the Riverside entertainment complex in a few minutes. In here there is a cinema and various chain resaurants and bars; Bella Italia, Chiquito, Nandos and Wetherspoons to name a few.
The hotel has a large bar and restaurant. We had breakfast there, again it was up to the usual Premier standard. A few pounds for an all you can eat buffet bonanza is just what you need after a hard night on the town!!
All in all this is a very well placed hotel, with good facilities and friendly staff. The fact that it has a large, free (at the time of writing) car park in the middle of a city is a huge bonus and a rarity these days.
When we go back to Norwich we will certainly look to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your lovely comments.

We're very pleased your enjoyed your stay here with us, along with the location on the Hotel, the proximity of the shops and restaurants, the great value 'All you can Eat' Premier Breakfast in our TableTable Bar and Restaurant and our 'free to residents' city centre car park.

Thank you also for your comments about the friendly and informative customer service you recieved and we do hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed there recently as a couple, Thursday and Friday night. We arrived at 12:30 and were allowed to check in straight away. Plenty of parking by the way.

Room was nice and clean and comfortable, had everything we needed, good shower, TV and table and chair for late night Sudoku. One minus, the windows don''t open very far and this was a worry in case of fire, take a screwdriver with you.

Just a 10 minute walk into town with plenty of bars and restaurants this is an ideal home for a weekend in Norwich.

The WiFi is £3 per day which is I suppose ok and it worked perfectly the whole time although you do have to remember to keep the slip of paper with the code on it as you must sign in EVERY time which was a pain.

The bar and restaurant is huge with a great view of the river and outside seating which is very pleasant. One gripe, the bar staff are very few and far between and very grumpy.

All in all, a great hotel, great value and we will be coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get ones overlooking the river, we did not get one and overlooked the car park instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your great review. We're pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and happy that you were able to check-in as soon as you arrived and were happy with your room along with the 'free for residents' car park.

Following on from your comments, it is a legal requirement, because the windows are so large, that window restrictors are put in place to avoid accidents, but please don't worry about the possibility of a fire, there are various fire exits in all areas accessible from every room and we have excellent fire procedures in place at all Premier Inns so you are always in very safe hands when you're here with us!

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bomlitz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We visit Norwich regularly every year to visit friends and family and this hotel is always our first choice. It has the best location in Norwich, directly by the train station, the football ground and the riverside complex with cinema, bowling, restaurants and shops. It has free parking facilities but if you have no car you are within very close walking distance of the city centre and main sights. The rooms are all very clean and the family rooms are a really good size and have plenty of room even with the extra beds in. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming. There isn't really much more you can ask for. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Many thanks for your fantastic review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay here along with your previous visits and that we're your first choice Hotel in Norwich!

We're happy you like the location of the Hotel and thank you for your nice comments about the friendliness of the staff and the customer service along with the great value for money.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the second Premier Inn I have used for a weekend stopover with my husband and two boys, and I would highly recommend the chain. This particular one has free parking and is perfectly situated near to restaurants, a cinema, bowling and plenty of shops. The family rooms are clean and a perfect size for the four of us, with Freeview TV to keep everyone quiet whilst I get ready to go out!
The staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable - other customer service industries would do well to take a look at their training! The all you can eat breakfast is perfect and very, very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allypally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you and your family had a good time when you visited us recently and took advantage of our location and the proximity to the shops, cinema and restaurants, along with our 'free to residents' car park.

Also, a big thank you for your lovely comments about our customer service and friendliness, we do hope you'll come back to visit us again soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
429 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing