We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I came down for a wedding in Caister Hall and stayed at the Premier Inn Nelson Street. What can I say this hotel was great, it was so clean and comfortable I got a double room but asked if I could have a twin it was great, there was no problem about changing. The staff were some of the nicest people i have encountered in a hotel, the girl who checked us in was a new start and she was so friendly and welcoming. All the staff were great nothing any bother The room was big and very comfortable, toilet spotless, my only one wee gripe no iron, to take the creases out of clothes but not to big a problem We were overlooking the river it was beautiful. Had a meal in hotel ,waitress fab dont know what you do to your staff but all seemed so happy in their jobs, dinner was lovely and the drinks not too expensive. All in all a great time was had.

THank You

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have stayed here a few times, mainly due to its excellent central location, good car parking, and nice bar/restaurant. On one stay it was extremely noisy during the night - I think a hen party were very drunk and were running around the corridors in the early hours. We have also noticed that the price keeps creeping up, so there are now other contenders in central locations at a simliar or even cheaper price (ie. The Maids Head). My husband and his friend are due to watch Norwich play Stoke soon and have chosen to book this hotel again - so it can't be bad!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A relaxed and comfortable experience,parking facilities on site and a great location by the river.Close to many restaurants and bars but not too close.Walking distance of the city centre.We had a saver room but would have paid more if needed because of the location.A very clean and smart hotel,friendly and polite staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your great comments.

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the great value room with our Saver Rate, along with the convenient location of the Hotel and our Customer Service.

I do hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the premier inn nelson for a week end stay to watch the football.

Hotel was easy to find and had plenty of parking.

Room was great usual standard for Premier inns. All the usual en suite facilities.

Location is great right near station. 5 minute walk to riverside center with many pubs and restaurants and 10 minute walk to town center.

Break fast very good at 8.25 each and you can eat as much as you like.

Only have one complaint. The Checking in procedure. We booked a 2 night stay but booked the 2 nights over different bookings. Checked in for the first night. couldnt check in for the 2nd night aswell as they were different bookings. Got to room and key didnt work had to go back to reception again. Next day when we got back from football went to room to change and key didnt work so back to reception. had to book in for the 2nd night then. Why they cant book you in for the 2 nights i do not know. Very inconvinent having to go back wards and forwards to reception all the time. This has never happened at other premier inns when we have done the same.

Apart form that a very good stay and will definately visit again at some point.

Room Tip: If you book a 2 night stay make sure they are not seperate bookings as it complicates things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philpeg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and for your comments.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the football too!

Following on from your comments, I'm sorry you had to book in for the second day separately, but I assume you booked one of our Premier Inn Saver Rates online which is a computerised booking system and can't be amended once confirmed as per the agreed terms and conditions.

For your safety, your room keycard is a security mechanism which will only allow the authorised person into the room when checked in with the corresponding details which is why you could not activate it the second time without rechecking back in on the second booking number to authenticate the correct person for entry into your same room.

We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon and please don't hesitate to contact us direct at the Hotel and we'll be happy to help with your future bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had a lovely room (with air conditioning!) overlooking the river. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Good position for the station where we picked up the CIty Sightseeing Bus. Very handy free parking too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us along with the location of the Hotel and took advantage of our 'free to residents' city centre car parking. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Everything you need for a reasonable price in an excellent location close to the town centre.
The rooms are fairly basic but clean and with everything you need (apart from an iron but you can get one from reception) and ours had a lovely view of the railway station and river.
The staff were friendly and helpful and for the money you couldn't really want anything more.
The only negative was that the lift was not working in our block which meant going up a flight of stairs, through a security door, along a corridor, up another flight of stairs, through another security door and along another corridor, which is a bit of a trek with luggage/ironing board and all of our friends were on the other side of the hotel.
The ample free parking was also a real bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NQ_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Many thanks for for taking the time to review and you comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room, the Staff service, our 'free to residents' city centre car park and the location of our Hotel. We're also pleased to announce that we have now completed the installation of a new lift so you won't need to carry anything too far if you visit us again, although we're always happy to deliver irons and ironing boards to your room if you telephone down to our 24 hour Reception Team and request them.

We do hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon and please don't hesitate to contact us prior to your visit to request a specific room or area of the Hotel, we'll be very happy to allocate it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I booked this hotel as it was my husband's birthday and he likes the Premier Inn breakfast. Being local to us, it meant that I could invite friends to the bar to celebrate with us and we also used hte Table Table restaurant, having vouchers which gave us a discount. All in all it was a good experience and I was surprised by the personal touches: having stayed at Premier Inn before, although friendly, they can be a little lacking in personallity. I had ordered a bottle of bubbly for the room: on arrival I was informed that the bar had run out of the one I had requested, but the staff had been to Budgens and bought a substitute on petty cash. I had requested a quiet room and we were directed to a family room, which had a river/garden view and a balcony.If you looked to the right you got a view of Norwich castle.Reception called the room to enquire if we were happy with it.The room was as every other Premier Inn room: clean, serviceable and very comfy bed. The Table Table food was good, standard fayre:nothing to rave about but entirely adequate.The staff, however, were more than helpful and accommodating.The hotel could consider putting a couple of chairs on the balcony.

Room Tip: Second floor room with balcony at end of buliding. Maybe avoid weekends as near night club area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Many thanks for your great reivew and we're very happy you chose to celebrate your Husband's Birthday with us!

We're so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay and the personal touches we provided, along with your room and dining in the TableTable Restaurant, both for dinner and our 'All you can Eat' Breakfast.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing