We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Cannot fault our stay. The room (126) was spacious, clean and looked newly decorated. It was at the back of the hotel so no view but also no traffic noise at all and as all we really wanted was somewhere comfortable to sleep this was ideal. The flatscreen TV in the room was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food at breakfast was excellent although the restaurant was a bit too busy, our daughter ate free. The hotel is in a very convenient location, 10 minutes walk from the city centre and the car park is free so there was no hassle with finding parking in a busy city on a Saturday. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 280Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    662
    140
    37
    24
See reviews for
369
713
112
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The place was a shambles! My first room had no double glazing, condensation pouring down the inside of the windows making the net curtains wet, I changed rooms to one with double glazing but the heating fan did'nt work properly so I had to use the electric radiator they provide in every room.other than that the room was a typical premier inn room, clean with ,flat tv etc., and clean bathroom. I went to the restaurant at just before 7, ordered food and still had'nt got it by 7.45 so spoke to the manager who got the food which was very mediocre. The breakfast was even worse with practically everything running out and not replaced, even tea bags and cups ran out, the floor behind the bar had cartons of juice and milk on the floor and was not cleaned up, the staff were rushing around but seemed so disorganised. I have stayed in the Premier Inn in Duke Street Norwich and this is far superior so stay there if visiting.

Room Tip: Overlooking the car park is quieter and on a upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and experienced some problems.

Please contact us directly at the Hotel at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss your comments and we'll be happy to rectify this situation.

Many thanks and I do hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from staying with Premier Inn again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was our first visit to a Premier Inn and we were immediately impressed by the welcome from the young receptionist. Everything continued in the same vein - the quality of the room, the good food and again the friendliness of all the staff.
I had only one very small niggle and that was when I claimed the free drink with the dinner showing the email as required according to the web page, I was told that I should have printed off a voucher rather than the page - my mistake but perhaps it could be made clearer as apparently I was not the first person to make the mistake. It did not spoil the evening though.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I have been in room 410 (2nd floor) for two nights. Premier Inn, wherever I am in the world, is always a guarantee to get the same facilities and standards without any bad surprise. The check in/out is quick and efficient. The room 410 is big (I booked a single, but they gave me a double) and quiet (it is faced to an internal court, so no views of the city, but no noises of traffic too). The room was clean with a big screen TV. The location is close to the pedestrian area of the city centre, just 5 mins by walk. The breakfast (I opted for the full menu self service) was of good quality (good sausages, eggs, mushroom, beams,...) and this is one of the reasons why I choose Premier Inn: at breakfast you can eat a good quality of food and how much you want. The mattress, duvet and pillows were comfortable, so the quality of the sleep was good. The heating system during the night was a bit noise, but not disturbing, also because from outside there wasn't any other noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Axel_VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I recently had to cancel a booking due to the sudden death of a close friend. As I had booked the room at a non-cancellable rate I did not expect to receive any refund. However, out of courtesy I emailed Premier Inn to notify them of the cancellation and gave them my reason. I was extremely surprised when a couple of weeks later I received a note directly from the Norwich Nelson hotel confirming a full refund of my payment. Well done Premier Inn. I shall certainly be coming to Norwich at a later date and will try you first for accommodation. Many thanks.
FH

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTsPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel was ideally placed for a wedding, close to the river and train station and within walking distance of shops and town centre. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and breakfast was very good. Nothing to complain about at all. In fact we are looking at returning for a weekend break soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and self chose to come to Norwich for an Autumn break.We chose the hotel because it was near to the station and by the river.Our twin room was large and beautifully clean.The beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts and dinner were tasty and well prepared. All staff were very welcoming and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
429 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing