We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good priced city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good priced city centre hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Booked this for a bank holiday weekend away on a budget. Usual Premier Inn positives. Clean comfortable room, great bed, friendly staff. Adjoining restaurant was more than adequate and had a number of decent dishes to try. Friendly staff in the restaurant as well as the hotel. Great breakfast. Good location no more than 10 mins to the city centre. Did EXACTLY what it said on the tin!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    650
    137
    34
    24
See reviews for
362
702
112
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hotel facilities 100% . Restaurant 0% poor service, poor selection available off listed menu, and slow service.quality of food just about acceptable but not outstanding. Location perfect for a visit to Norwich City


  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a course. Staff were polite, happy and helpful every time I spoke to them and they were all different. Rooms clean and perfectly adequate with far more facilities than a travelodge. Perfect location, my room on the first floor overlooked the river, 10 mins from town centre, 2 mins from train station, 3 mins from leisure complex including restaurants, bars, cinema, bowling then small retail park across the road. Bargain if you book in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A one night stay, staff v helpful when we were looking for somewhere to eat. The room was spacious and clean. We had a good night sleep in quiet surroundings despite being a stone's throw from city centre. Free parking as well which was a very pleasant suprise. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Some overlook the river and others the car park. Given that we spent the evening a day out of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely hotel, in a great location opposite the railway station. Rooms were spacious, clean and very well appointed, no complaints at all! Staff were pleasant and eager to please. The only issue with the location is that there can be some noise late at night from outside such as sirens, people shouting and driving fast cars. Windows are double glazed which helps with this and all our party slept well. We did not eat at the adjoining Table Table restaurant because of reading poor reviews on Trip-advisor but there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from either near the Station or Riverside or Tombland. Would stay here again. The narrow pathway between the hotel and the river was messy and littered and the hotel would do well to keep this area in good order because it does detract from the lovely hotel you find once inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidays436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Yesterday I took my 87 year old mother to Norwich for a family wedding. She was worried about staying in a hotel for a night. She has limited mobility and our room was beside the lift on the first floor. We stayed in the Premier Inn, Norwich Nelson City Centre, Prince of Wales Road. We were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. Everyone was very helpful, a taxi was ordered and turned up at ther agreed time and took us to the Octagon for the wedding service.
Our room was very comfortable, clean and tidy. We asked if it would be possible to be allowed in to our room before 14.00 and we arrived early on the off chance and got our key at 12.15 which was really great.
Breakfast was another very good experience.
All in all we both highly recommend a Premier Inn and will most certainly book again if we need a night away in the near future. we couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: We asked for a twin bedded room which we got, although there was a king size bed and a single! Out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

You always know what you are going to get with a Premier Inn. This looks a bit rough EPROM the outside. However, do not judge a book and all that, inside is immaculate, rooms big and beds very comfortable. All staff really pleasant and helpful and free parking onsite. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looloumac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
622 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing