We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
frodsham uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable one night stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Four of us stayed here for mone night on the 18th of August.There is ample free parking in there own car park.
The location is excellent beside the river wensum,just a stones throw from Norwich station.The hotel and the ajoining "table table" have tables and chairs beside the river bank.
We took out the meal deal,£22-99 each for a three course evening meal including a drink (bitter,lager,wine etc) and a eat as much as you like breakfast.
Would recommend the hotel to anybody.
The bedrooms are of a good standard,staff were very efficient and friendly.
the only drawback is the area at the back of the hotel is a bit rundown,but that is not premier inns fault

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    648
    137
    34
    24
See reviews for
362
699
112
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Best one stayed in so far. Yes windows dirty and could be cleaned and yes noise from revellers leaving the various night clubs in the area and yes a rather awkward unattractive foot entrance. BUt very nice riverside location with nice private garden, next to train station, not far to walk to city center locations or nearby huge lovely Morrison's. Hard working well meaning well trained staff, secure safe parking, great room; clean spacious, air conditioned, plenty of tea and coffee, clean sheets and towels huge bathroom with plenty of hot water for bath/shower .... All make this a favourable place to choose. Stayed two nights Thurs and Friday with plenty of time on the Saturday to explore the city shops further without penalty or extra costs which one can incur at the alternative nearby! We didn't eat at the on site restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for your great comments. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location of the Hotel along with the friendly and helpful customer service you recieved from our Team. I do hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Returned to this hotel many times now and never let down. Rooms clean and well organised with polite and helpful staff. Parking excellent and free. Lovely views of the river and a nice hotel garden and close proximity to restaurants and the city centre. Will be returning soon!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review and for your fabulous comments. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm delighted to hear you'll be visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We often stay at a Premier Inn and have to say following a few days at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre, this is not our favourite. Disappointed by the policy of only one hand towel between two people - unless you queue up at reception to ask each time you would like a full set of towels per person. Also need to queue at reception to ask for a car-park ticket to be validated each time you leave the car-park in order to get free car-parking. Buffet-style breakfast was great but did have to wait for items to be available. We went to the Table Table restaurant on our first night but did not return because whilst the menu, price and food were reasonable we waited a very long time for service e.g. to pay the bill. It was particularly frustrating that we were told more than once someone would come to take our payment but still we sat there waiting whilst another member of staff tried to persuade people who did not want them to sign up for a loyalty card. In an attempt to be understanding, we asked the waiter if they were short-staffed that evening, but he said no they were not. On the whole the hotel was clean and tidy but 'tired' and agree with another review about the dirty windows. Despite being on a main cross-roads, in the city centre and opposite the train station, we were not disturbed by noise as long we kept our windows closed. Some staff friendly and helpful, others did not inspire confidence. If we needed to stay in Norwich again we would perhaps try a different Premier Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee H, Cluster Sales Manager at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for your comments. It really does matter to us that you have an enjoyable stay so I was very sorry to learn that we didn't meet your expectations this time.

Please contact me direct at the Hotel on 01603 760260 so that we can discuss your comments and resolve this matter with you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Many thanks and Kind Regards,

Dee Hilton, Cluster Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

" he that expects little is seldom disappointed" was the frame of mind in which i booked the hotel, mainly because of it's riverside location and closeness to the station, for we were trying to have a break without driving.

The approach to the hotel involved carrying our suitcase down a flight of litter strewn steps, deepened my apprehension BUT that was assuaged by the brilliant attitude of the receptionist and the lovely large room to which we were shown.

No doubt 99% of guests arrive by car but my suggestion to the hotel management to improve the approach for pedestrians is 1) keep the steps clear of litter 2) make the alternative foot approach through the car park more pleasant by resiting the skip.

I did report the litter problem on each of our 3 day stay but to no effect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for two nights on special deal, the hotel is situated minutes walk from the city centre.
The room was great & quiet considering the central location, all the staff were friendly, an added bonus was the free parking, we would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipperJOE98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCottage
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Premier Inns are good in that you know what you are getting. This one is as you would expect but a little tired. The location is good for town and is right on the river which is pleasant. This is also really handy for the train station which is 2 minutes walk away. Ate out at a good curry house just up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing