We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to the usual Premier Inn standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed at many Premier Inns across England in the past couple of years and find them reliable and comfortable places to stay. This hotel in Norwich was no exception. It was close to the railway station and had plenty of parking, which was free.

The front desk staff provided a warm welcome and checked me in quickly. My room was clean, equipped just the way I expected and was very quiet thanks to its location away from the road. The free WiFi (for 30 minutes) gave a strong signal.

My colleague and I ate in the restaurant that is part of the hotel. It had an extensive, fairly basic and relatively inexpensive menu. The food was fine although the service was a bit slow.

I would be very happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The room was good quality as I have come to expect from Premier Inn. I love the inclusion of ports such as hdmi for the TV so will take blu ray next time. One problem with the room was efficiently sorted by staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was looking to come up for the weekend and checked an few hotels before this one. I'm so glad I booked for a Premier Inn I must say that this is one of the best I have stayed in. It looks like that this has been recently been refurbished and the room I stayed in (twin) was huge room 141 along with a large TV. Staff were great and the attached restaurant was reasonable and had a great breakfast. The hotel was about 10 minute walk from the city center and next to Norwich train station. I would 100% come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great location for visiting city, 10 mins walk from shops and restaurants.stayed while football match on , thus hotel full as well as car park,so best to check fixtures before booking or arrive early. Riverside walk can be accessed on other side of road. Clean and large rooms.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our first stay in a Premier Inn our we were very happy with the experience. Pleasant welcome, large room overlooking the River Wensum, very quiet and we slept well, reasonably priced wifi if not free, free parking, generous breakfast with freshly cooked eggs. The street is a bit scruffy at night but a short walk into the centre and even better, a lovely walk along the riverside walk into town. We would happily choose the hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BarrieLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

...and well located with good parking. If you are staying in Norwich and want a place that's good value, efficient, friendly and comfortable, you could do a lot worse than Premier Inn. Totally unglamorous but at least it was pretty clean and easy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night so we could go shopping in the day. Then out for a meal at night time and a few hours in the city for shopping on the Monday morning. The hotel is right on the river, Just across the road from the train stn. If you walk out of the back of the hotel and turn right and right again when you cross the bridge keep walking straight for 200 mars and there is lots of bars and eating places. If you follow this rd to the end you will come to a out of city shopping complex. With a next, h and m, Matalan and a few others. There is a supermarket that sells cheap fuel for your return trip. I must warn you don,t go back to your room in the dark after a few drinks. We got the shock of are life's until we turned the light on and found out it was Lenny Henry lol.

Room Tip: There all good rooms, If for any reason other guest or guests keep you awake. Make a formal complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppjkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing