We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but reliable and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Breakfast could have been better but the service was good and I would recommend this hotel. The location is convenient for the station, cathedral, and city centre even though this travel lodge is older than the other one in Norwich.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

As a group of six girls out for a Christmas night out location was key and this hotel fitted perfectly. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is by the river near the centre of Norwich with a car park . Easy to get to the shops and football stadium. Good comfortable facilities. The beds have a good mattress and the pillows are good. Tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just completed a short stay in Norwich, seeing Granddaughter at UEA.
Checked out on line hotels in Norwich, Premier Inn's seemed to offer the best value.
Not disappointed, staff friendly and helpful room clean and comfortable, price higher than advertising suggests not sure how you can get a room for £29.00 a night.
Had the continental breakfast good and plentiful but not very inspiring.
Hotel well placed on river bank, were slightly worried by close proximity of numerous nightclubs but unfounded, hotel quiet and secure. would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location for us, out of the railway station and across the road. Room was a good size and clean, staff friendly and helpful, Peaceful night sleep, comfortable beds. The only down side was the wait to be seated in the restaurant, no one was there to meet and greet and seat you, you had to stand and wait for them. Breakfast was plentiful. Across from the hotel is the leisure area with cinema and plenty of food outlets, also some shops and a Morrison supermarket. The town centre and Castle Mall were all within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

To be honest, we do not generally review Premier Inn on TA because they are what they are but felt our trip to The Nelson; Norwich deserved a mention because from check in to departure, we could not fault our stay.
From the point of our initial booking enquiry (we dealt direct with The Nelson, not central reservations) all staff were professional, efficient, friendly and helpful and this continued throughout our stay.
Our room was of a decent size, very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was big enough with a bath/shower which had excellent water pressure. All public areas were spotless and for a town centre stay, the price represents good value for money.
Prior to arrival, we were a bit doubtful as to what to expect with road noise because of the location but both of us slept two nights of uninterrupted sleep.
We had breakfast one morning in the Table Table restaurant which was good and 9 of us had dinner one evening. Not 5* food quality but you don’t pay 5* star prices and if you keep expectations relative to cost then I don’t think there is cause to be disappointed at this particular venue.
I never thought to ever review a Premier Inn but this one really does deserve a 5 based on staff, location and price.
If I had to give a negative it would be - no Dave on the tv!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormdancer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

As some of previous reports ,clean and well presented rooms.Saw evidence some rooms being updated.Staff at reception very helpful .Entrance was via the restaurant,but did find another via car park (better use if going to City or restricted mobility as no steps).easy walk to city centre ,riverside and railway station.Would use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettitfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing