We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days late December”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

As always, you know what to expect from Premier Inn - a no fuss/frills service - Norwich Nelson City Centre did not let me down. Staff very friendly and helpfull, especially Dee (hotel) and Emma (waitress at the adjoining pub/restaurant).

Good room (129) overlooking the park/river, with a balcony (was a Marriot hotel before). I gather you need to take care and ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel (as I did) if this is what you want. Walls are very thin, as I think others guests have commented on, which did make my stay more interesting at times!!

The hotel is close to town centre, but also close to
1)Several buildings that look as though they are about to be raised to the ground/empty and run-down looking, and
2)Several night clubs. Sadly there was a noticeable amount of broken glass around after Friday night, but I thought pubs/clubs used plastic glasses now.

Tesco Metro very close, so if you need a few supplies for the room, easy to get.

Would I stay there again - yes.

Room Tip: I gather you need to take care and ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel (as I did) if this...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulfromRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We bought 3 nights at this hotel via a deal online. £29.00 per night. A cheap way to have a break, see the in laws before Christmas thus earning brownie points. A very comfortable hotel. We didn't pay for breakfast so cannot comment on that. There is a restaurant at the hotel which we were advised to make a booking for but we ate out instead, plenty of restaurants locally and near to all the chain places too so if you fancy Mexican, Chinese, Thai, American or pub food it's under a 10 minute walk. The hotel is near one of the streets that turns into party road at the weekend but we stayed mid week without any problems. Staff at the hotel are lovely and helpful. One tiny thing to improve upon would be the amount of tea and coffee in the room, they will give you more for free if you ask at reception but in the cold weather we drink a lot so was a pain to keep asking as the hotel is big and we were at the other end to reception. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: For anyone with walking issues ask to be near to reception as that is also near car park.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was booked to stay here by my employer as I attended the Xmas party.

It's a very well located hotel, my room was clean and spacious, great shower, pillows a little hard for my liking but I did have 4 as I was staying alone. There was only one each of hand & bath towel, which was fine. I did find the room a little cold when I woke up but then realised I hadn't put the heating on! The room warmed up pretty quickly after that although it wasn't the quietest as it was like a warm air system.
Breakfast was buffet style and perfectly fine.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've reviewed this place before but just thought I'd update you. Still has the same feel, the place is clean and still looks good. It is in the centre of Norwich with a large car park outside - a definite bonus - about the only one that can claim both I think. You're just off the Norwich nightclub district so outside gets a bit noisy at weekends but the glazing on even the ground floor rooms means you can rarely hear anything.late on. The bar and restaurant are very busy, lively places used a lot by locals for nights out/family meals etc. You are within 10 minutes walk of a wide range of eateries and places of historical interest.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel are I think a little bigger.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent location and value for money. Look no further if you want a good stay in Norwich City. What make this Premier Inn cut above others hotel is the staff, friendly and helpfull without intrude your personal space and the quality of the accomodation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decolover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great deal for room. Clean, warm and in a great location, 5 minute walk to Norwich shops. When we arrived one of the lights were broken in the bedroom, but someone came up straight away to fix it, so not a problem at all.
Would stay here again.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlareload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here recently for a night out in Norwich. great location and friendly reception staff on check in. Rooms were pretty basic but every thing you need and clean. Car Parking included in the price of the stay too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#16 of 50 in Norwich
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £56 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing