We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast was cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The overall stay at this Premier Inn was satisfactory but I have to say the cooked breakfast was cold, greasy and not very pleasant. I love a cooked breakfast and left most of mine as did my husband. The staff were brilliant in service and clearing the tables shame about the food. The dinner we had the night before was lovely and hot but we were VERY dissapointed with the quality of the cooked breakfast on the Saturday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    632
    133
    33
    22
See reviews for
342
672
107
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

It's difficult reviewing Premier Inns because they tend to be much the same - good value budget hotels. What sets the Nelson apart is the location - right on the riverside and just a ten minute walk
from the city centre. It's also just across the river from a new shopping centre with cinema and good choice of chain restaurants and pubs. Also, the breakfast was definitely above average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Third visit here and expectations met again. Efficient check in. Rooms great. Spacious! Beds very comfortable. Choice of pillows too. If there's a downside that'd be towel quality. Breakfast service fine. Free parking.

Room Tip: Go for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here after a busy day shopping. The welcome was lovely, all the staff we met were cheerful and friendly. Everyone from reception, restaurant, cleaners ect greeted us with a cheerful word.
We had a very good meal in the restaurant and a great breakfast.
The room was warm , spotlessly clean and comfortable, we had a great nights sleep as promised!
The only gripe we had was the entrance to reception from the station was either through the restaurant or a walk round the back to the car park entrance.
Great place to stay, great prices and very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front, the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

i stay at Premier inn hotels reasonably often for business and dont think to review them. However, over the Chirstmas and New Year break i stayed at two, both of which were excellent.
The Nelson is in a great location, right on the riverside and close to town. We had the room for 3 nights on the £29 deal which is great value. The room was clean, tidy and modern, everything i have come to expect from the brand.
What really made it stand out for me was the attitude of ths staff. Ever so friendly without being OTT, always keen to help and offer advice on where to go, what to do, and very good at what they do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

this is a great hotel, we had a room with a balcony over looking the river and gardens. the hotel is within less than a 5 minute walk of the town with lots of places to eat and a bowling alley. great all round

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Always happy with Premiere Inns. Nelson Hotel no exception. Staff went that extra mile to help us on 3 occassions. We had a 5 year old with us and he really enjoyed the stay. We were staying for an anniversary and panto and taxi and meals were arranged and great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing