We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

very good value for Money. extremely efficient and friendly staff. Facilities as expected for type of hotel. Minor problem dealt with immediately by staff. breakfast good and very good value for Money. A good choice for short stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pythagoras79_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    612
    129
    33
    22
See reviews for
335
651
104
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I am a lone female business traveller. I arrived in a hire car from Stansted airport after midnight. The carpark was difficult to find. Once I had parked, the adjacent hotel entrance was locked, with a notice saying guests had to go round to the restaurant entrance on the other side of the building. I had heavy cases and I was very tired. I had no help with my cases and there were many stairs. When I got there the desk clerk said he could not let me in as it was a locked fire-door and I would have to go all the way back to the original entrance. He directed me through a dark and muddy garden. It was after midnight and I was a lone female. The sign on the door had been incorrectly placed. Once I had got to the desk the man apologised, but then said "it was not his fault because he had not placed the sign". I do not care whose fault it was. It was very bad customer service and he was representing the company so regardeless of who had placed the sign, it was his responsibility to deal with it. I then asked if I could get a sandwich and a drink, as I had been travelling since 5pm without refreshments. He said that the restaurant was closed and if I wanted anything to eat I should go into the high street and find a takeaway. If they can't provide any food at all after 11pm then perhaps a sandwich vending machine might be a good idea.

The desk staff in the morning were as helpful as could be, and very friendly.

The breakfast buffet was OK (I didn't much care for their 'NEW' hash-browns (adverised on the bedside table, to add insult to injury), but there was a reasonable selection and the hot food was reasonably fresh.

The room was clean, but the toilet contained evidence of a previous occupant, which was not very nice.

Room Tip: Lower room numbers seem nearer the lobby and stairs. Higher are at the end of the corridor but neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancheComptoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good stay.
Warm,clean.
10 minute walk into the city. Bus stop short distance from hotel.
Lots of places to eat out over the river to right of station.
Lots to see and do. Great place to visit./revisit

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

A very pleasant surprise when a large, budget, chain hotel lives up to its promises and exceeds expectations. This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and we were delighted with the comfort, size and cleanliness of our family room. The situation, just across the road from the railway station and close proximity of all the popular chain pubs and restuarants., was an all round winner. The city centre was a pleasant stroll away too. I cannot fault the staff or anything about this hotel and all for a bargain early booking price. Will definitely return to sit on the balcony overlooking the river for another relaxing break. Recommend without hesitation but, dont expect posh furniture and five star swish just good comfortable bed, clean, quiet, accomodation and staff doing a first class job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

These guys really do deliver on their promise of a good nights sleep. There is next to no noise when you are in your room. They are fairly soundproofed with slow closing doors meaning no wake up calls from early (or late) birds in other rooms. Bed is extremely comfortable and room well heated. My room had a great view of the river below. The proximity of the hotel to city centre restaurants and shops is a main selling point. The restaurant produces some tasty dinners for a very reasonable price. One complaint I have of the room is the lack of plugs next to the bed for charging a mobile or laptop. Would definitely recommend and will keep this as choice of hotel in Norwich for future business and pleasure trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lovely Hotel, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, convenient for rail station and city. Had a lovely quiet room overlooking the garden and the river. Good food for this type of hotel , value for money but venture into Norwich to sample some excellent cafe's and restaurants. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 3 night break.

River view was great and room was comfortable and of a good quality.

Staff very friendly and would certainly go back.

Located in the centre of town it is a god location to visit both the cathedral an castle.

Downsides lack of wireless and breakfast not included in room price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing