We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by the riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Down by the riverside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a trip to Norwich and stayed at the premier inn on riverside,very friendly staff,and lovely rooms.Good car parking and very nice bar area and dining room all at a very reasonable price.A must if you want to stay in Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    632
    133
    33
    22
See reviews for
343
672
107
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This premier inn is in a very good location on the riverside. It's very convenient to leave your car, free parking is a big bonus, and walk around Norwich. The rooms are exactly as you would expect, clean and comfortable. There is a nice lounge downstairs overlooking the river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

You can't really complain about his hotel, it's just a quick walk across the road from the train station and it offers a good nights sleep.
Add to that the excellent price for a double room this is a superb hotel for an overnight stay after a gig.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent hotel and service.
Evening meal & breakfast were also excellent although no self service of a costa coffee machine, which usually there is at other premier inns i have stayed at.
Sleep poor - noisy window rattled all night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed just one night. For what we paid (£40) it represents good value. Probably wouldn't feel the same if I had paid the full flexible rate. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant is convenient although we didn't use it as we fancied trying the Thai on the boat opposite the hotel, which we would recommend. Location is good for the station although it a little walk into the city centre. A class above the Travelodge we have stayed in in Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had lunch here today from daytime set menu, and what I had was delicious I had chicken curry, it was delicious, as authentic and good as in any Indian restaurant. Would definitely come here. Location was nice too and reasonably priced

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived for a two night weekend stay in Norwich. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful Receptionist, who, gave us good information and advice on where to eat. The hotel is centrally positioned so we could walk anywhere within the city. The room was up to the Premier expectation as was breakfast and customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing