We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in February 2014.

I chose this hotel for my first trip to Norwich in part because of a good promotional price but more so due to the location. Coming from overseas I had more luggage to get rid of than the typical overnight guest and with limited time to explore the city this Premier Inn's location less than 5 minutes walk from my arrival and departure point, the train station, was ideal. There were also plenty of restaurants, pubs, and food shops within a few minutes walk.

In addition to location and price a few other positives were the very spacious room, the bathroom, comfortable bed, a table with chair, TV with Freeview (though no red button), and luggage storage area. At first the shower concerned me as it looked like some continental ones where nothing separates the shower standing area from the rest of the bathroom (flooding!) however the drainage worked perfectly so no flooding here.

The Wifi worked well too, but it was only free for 30 minutes - thus 4 stars instead of 5. After that you had to pay (I think it was 3 or 4 pounds for a day) but this was all explained in the prominently displayed hotel literature (along with hotel restaurant menus and prices) so there was no sneakiness to it.

All staff members (like all the people I encountered in Norwich) were friendly and welcoming.

Some previous reviewers mentioned noise from nearby clubs but I wasn't disturbed in any way.

All in all a pleasant stay and I have no reason to go anywhere else in my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a trip to Norwich and stayed at the premier inn on riverside,very friendly staff,and lovely rooms.Good car parking and very nice bar area and dining room all at a very reasonable price.A must if you want to stay in Norwich.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This premier inn is in a very good location on the riverside. It's very convenient to leave your car, free parking is a big bonus, and walk around Norwich. The rooms are exactly as you would expect, clean and comfortable. There is a nice lounge downstairs overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

You can't really complain about his hotel, it's just a quick walk across the road from the train station and it offers a good nights sleep.
Add to that the excellent price for a double room this is a superb hotel for an overnight stay after a gig.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent hotel and service.
Evening meal & breakfast were also excellent although no self service of a costa coffee machine, which usually there is at other premier inns i have stayed at.
Sleep poor - noisy window rattled all night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed just one night. For what we paid (£40) it represents good value. Probably wouldn't feel the same if I had paid the full flexible rate. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The restaurant is convenient although we didn't use it as we fancied trying the Thai on the boat opposite the hotel, which we would recommend. Location is good for the station although it a little walk into the city centre. A class above the Travelodge we have stayed in in Norwich.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had lunch here today from daytime set menu, and what I had was delicious I had chicken curry, it was delicious, as authentic and good as in any Indian restaurant. Would definitely come here. Location was nice too and reasonably priced

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing