We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the location perfect for visiting the City. A 5 minute walk took us to the City centre with all attractions and shopping in easy reach.
A 2 minute walk in the other direction takes you to the Riverside complex with loads of choice of places to eat and drink.
Staff were very polite and helpful and car parking is free (get card verified in the hotel).
Room was small but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynngaliszewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    648
    137
    34
    24
See reviews for
362
698
112
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just returned from a two day break in Premier Inn, Norwich. Hotel was just opposite the railway station and local bus services and alongside the river.
The premier inn had a lovely restaurant and bar. Definitely will stay at this hotel again as it was so close to the City centre and riverside walks. 10/10

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night city break. Room was large and very clean, staff were first rate.

Downside - WIFI ( which you pay for ) dips in and out continually, so you have to log in on each use. Also you are limited to two devices on the wifi. Family's beware..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DSB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Friends stayed here the window did not open and air con did not work surely at £90 a night these should be available. The hotel is a stones throw from railway station so in good position and also on the river wensum

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have been charged twice for our stay in Norwich & a week on are still waiting for a refund terrible service & caused me many sleepless nights since returning from what was meant to be a relaxing wedding anniversary weekend. Promised it will get sorted but it hasn't :(

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Premier Inn have cracked it.

The hotels are well positioned, the service at reception is very good, the rooms are spacious enough, very clean and well appointed and the breakfast times and offering spot on.

Norwich Nelson City Centre was all of the above.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in February 2014.

I chose this hotel for my first trip to Norwich in part because of a good promotional price but more so due to the location. Coming from overseas I had more luggage to get rid of than the typical overnight guest and with limited time to explore the city this Premier Inn's location less than 5 minutes walk from my arrival and departure point, the train station, was ideal. There were also plenty of restaurants, pubs, and food shops within a few minutes walk.

In addition to location and price a few other positives were the very spacious room, the bathroom, comfortable bed, a table with chair, TV with Freeview (though no red button), and luggage storage area. At first the shower concerned me as it looked like some continental ones where nothing separates the shower standing area from the rest of the bathroom (flooding!) however the drainage worked perfectly so no flooding here.

The Wifi worked well too, but it was only free for 30 minutes - thus 4 stars instead of 5. After that you had to pay (I think it was 3 or 4 pounds for a day) but this was all explained in the prominently displayed hotel literature (along with hotel restaurant menus and prices) so there was no sneakiness to it.

All staff members (like all the people I encountered in Norwich) were friendly and welcoming.

Some previous reviewers mentioned noise from nearby clubs but I wasn't disturbed in any way.

All in all a pleasant stay and I have no reason to go anywhere else in my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.7 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing