We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Within 5 minutes of the centre of Norwich but on the river. Given the choice of a river view but warned it could be noisy but decided to take the risk - no noise through the windows which was great. Large bathroom, spotlessly clean, very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voldermort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Premier Inn staff are always extremely friendly and welcoming this one was no exception. Everyone we dealt with on our one night stay was excellent, but special note to Reception and the Bar staff.
Location for a city break is perfect, next to the station and easy walking distance to both the Castle and the Cathedral.
There are loads of restaurants nearby and a good collection of night clubs.
Highly recommend and guess what no car parking charges.
Definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and have never been disappointed.

Location is across the parking lot at the rail station and then over the bridge - easiest entry is through the bar/restaurant, take the steps down after you cross the bridge. After hours the walk is a little further as you go down the street and enter through the Inn's parking lot.

The staff are welcoming and accomodating. Breakfast buffet is a great value and available for 3 hours so you don't need to be an early riser.

WiFi can be purchased by the day - good connectivity and speed, downside is you have to keep up with your codes and enter a new one each day.

Restaurant has well priced, plain fare. For after hours there is a Dominos Pizza just down the street - the Front Desk has the number and will even place the call.

If site seeing you are only a short walk to the Norwich Castle, Cathedral, Royal Arcade, outside Market and the Mall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel does what is says on the tin. The rooms are clean and functional. The location is close to the city center and waterside. The staff were friendly and helpful. The internet was down when I stayed which was a bit irritating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A very comfortable and well-run hotel with great facilities. WiFi free for first 30 mins, and then only £3 for a 24-hour period. Large flat-screen TV, connectivity for laptops and other devices, and tea- and coffee-making facilities. Had a great night's sleep, though slight noise from outside (to be expected from a city centre hotel, though).
Centrally placed in Norwich, with lovely riverside position, and free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aradiacardigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Premier Inns have certainly got their room layouts right, can't fault it at all. The hotel was great but the room so hot, and we were unable to open the window which meant a rather uncomfortable night.

The internet facility was good, there was a £3 charge which seemed reasonable enough. The code works on more than one piece of equipment.

The food at the nearby TableTable was very good.

I would recommend this hotel, but get a window that opens!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tateypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose this hotel for the location near the station as we were travelling by train. The shortest route into the hotel from the station is down a flight of steps and through the hotel dining room. The step free access is much longer and through a congested area which is unpleasant in the dark.
Unusually for Premier Inn the bed squeaked every time one moved on it.
We took a day out by train to Great Yarmouth, then bus to Lowestoft and returned by train direct from there to Norwich. Cromer and Sheringham are also easily accessible by regular train services: all of which are good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing