We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here a few times. Perfect city centre location with bars, restaurants, cinema etc all walkable. Best premier inn I've stayed in. Situated on the river, great bar and restaurant on site , staff very helpful, child friendly and free car park - arrive and park early to go shopping before check in ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneE933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Nice family room in quiet part of hotel with balcony. Clean and fresh as always. There were two beds for the kids. Nice size television in the room for the kids. We ate dinner in there restaurant, Tia curry very nice. Breakfast was faultless fresh fruit, fresh cooked items available. All staff in hotel and restaurant were attentive, polite and welcoming to young children.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southeastmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a short Bank Holiday break in Norwich, and weren't disappointed. The location is ideal for a short city break, and is within walking distance of many great restaurants, bars and shops.

Upon arrival, we found ample free parking in the complex, and were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff. They were eager to answer any questions we may have, and provided all of the information one would expect to receive and more. The cleaning staff were equally as friendly and willing to help out with additional condiments or other room requirements.

Considering its central location, the hotel didn't suffer too much noise from the nearby main road and the room was fully air conditioned. An additional heater was provided but we had no use for it. Large screen TV in the room and generally very tidy and welcoming. The decor was immaculate and I had no complaints about the cleanliness of the room or its facilities.

The only downside to the hotel is the WiFi access. You get 30 minutes free, and thereafter must purchase a WiFi pass. It is my understanding though, that this is a Premier Inn policy, so it's not fair to blame this particular branch or its staff for this slight shortcoming. It is worth noting though that users of smartphones can enjoy 4G signal here, so tethering or personal WiFi hotspot is the way to go if you need Internet access.

We opted for the full English breakfast (which is served in the Table Table restaurant / pub annex) and weren't disappointed. The breakfast was a buffet-style arrangement, with the food plentiful and hot. The coffee was good quality filtered beans, and every effort was made to ensure that one received a perfect service. No complaints about the breakfast at all!

All in all, this was a very pleasurable stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others looking for an ideally-located hotel for a short city break or business visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We had been driving all day and despaired of finding a good place to stay when we came across a Premier Inn in Norwich - unfortunately full, but the receptionist rang the Nelson and booked us in there, gave us a map with directions. We found it easily, and were overwhelmed by the friendly and helpful staff and the comfort of our room. We then had a meal in the restaurant, and again were impressed by the caring attitudes of the staff. The food was excellent, so we decided to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Often been past this over the years an had the chance to stay over for a weekend on a family wedding , hotel & rooms very clean , lovely comfy bed , clean bathroom , nice views of the river an castle , lovely riverside bar , ideal for rail travellers with it being just across the road from the station , lots of new bars & resteraunts along the river , and of course all the bars in the old part of the city , would highly recommend this hotel . BIG AL in Wigan

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As a regular Premier Inn user, this one gets an overall 'OK' only because it suffers from large-hotel syndrome.

All standards are fastidiously applied as usual but my, unprecedented, disappointment stems from a lack of, then ill-informed/untrained Reception team, unsure of room availability and procedure; all very tiresome and time-consuming when, after a long journey, you just want a shower and crash.
A real shame but easily remedied for the benefit of thers.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This Premier Inn is easy to find. With a large, private car park for guests, all facilities are good. Cheerful, welcoming and helpful staff at all times. No fuss, quiet rooms here, ensure a good night's sleep. The restaurant is well run, efficient with a good selection and choice. Prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere completely relaxing.
We've found this Inn a very good place to stay and will doubtless return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing