We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedgewood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wedgewood House
Ranked #7 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kettering
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Wedgewood recently it really is a lovely comfortable B and B , warma and friendly hosts , breakfast was delightful , just a 5 minute stroll to the City centre , what more could you want .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splashKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
122
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyjourdes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nigel and Elspeth are just great hosts, always ready to help and make sure you are enjoying your stay. The rooms are very comfortable,and cosy. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.
I always feel welcomed.
Breakfast is a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne_liseB724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Wedgewood House for 2 nights in March and we had a lovely time. Despite a mix up with rooms, Nigel and Elspeth went out of their way to make sure that we were happy with our room (even to the point of buying us a box of chocolates and a card to apologise for the fact we didn't get the one we originally asked for). The room was very well equipped, with a tv, shower and toilet, tea and coffee making facilities (including cookies!), some information about Norwich and the surrounds, and a comfy bed with a number of different pillows and an extra blanket was available if you were very cold! The room was lovely and warm, which was welcome after a day exploring in the cold. The heaters also had a thermostat so that you can turn it down if its too warm. It was a very nice room and felt very clean and comfortable.

When we arrived at the guest house we were worried it might be a bit noisy due to the fact it was on a main road, however our bedroom had an extra set of double glazed shutters which pretty much cancels out all of the noise, and we both slept soundly!

Breakfast was amazing, and nothing is too much hassle for Nigel and Elspeth! I had a cooked breakfast each morning as did my partner (toast, tea, eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, sausages all available), and there were also orange juice, a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, jams and marmalades (which were home made) available too! Superbly cooked, it was delicious!

Nigel and Elspeth were both very friendly and attentive, without being invasive. You are provided with your own key to get in through the front door, and then up in to your room. There is parking at the back of property which was perfect. The guest house is very close to Norwich centre, easily walkable.

In all, we had a wonderful time here, and if we ever come back to Norwich we will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, which was at the top/front of the house, and it was perfect for our needs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booked an anniversary weekend here and loved it. Peter and Elspeth are brilliant hosts (I've never had a better cooked breakfast!) and Peter went out of his way to make sure we knew how to get where we were planning on going.
Very comfortable rooms, really relaxed atmosphere and the car park was such a bonus - we didn't have to worry about moving it or getting a ticket.
We would definitely stay here again and I've already recommended it to friends!
Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellierb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Wedgewood House, and had a wonderful stay. Peter and Elspeth are very warm and welcoming hosts: they were happy to share their knowledge of the city, as well as being very attentive and accommodating.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable (and warm - much appreciated after a day exploring the city in the cold!) Breakfast on both days was excellent - cooked to order, and really fresh and tasty.

Location-wise, Wedgewood House is just 5-10 mins walk from the city centre, so perfect for exploring Norwich. It was great to be able to park the car up, and not worry about it for the rest of the weekend.

All in all, a lovely place to stay - we'd highly recommend it and will definitely return in future!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed at Wedgewood House on our wedding night.
We found the owners to be welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, served hot and delicious. Quality cup of coffee too !
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much for being a part of our special day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at Wedgewood House on a recent weekend trip to Norwich. We don't normally stay in B&Bs and were a little nervous about what to expect, but Wedgewood House completely exceeded our expectations. We were very glad that we'd chosen it.

The owners of Wedgewood House are lovely, friendly, and welcoming.

Our room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, had high ceilings, and still retained the charm of a period property. The bathroom was clean, spacious, and modern. There was virtually no noise from the hallway/adjoining rooms, which made it feel very private and cosy.

Breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay. Although there is a menu, you can order a custom breakfast composed of any of the standard breakfast fare offered, cooked any way you like. Most produce is sourced locally, and there are also home-made yogurt and jams on offer. What a treat!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.5 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood House

Property: Wedgewood House
Address: 42 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere at this superbly located, city centre Edwardian house. Short walk to restaurants, theatres, cinemas, shops and historic city centre. On bus route to university and hospital. Enjoy homely non-smoking comfort and cleanliness in thoughtfully equipped and attractive bedrooms. Freshly prepared English breakfast using top quality, locally produced ingredients. Vegetarian alternative available. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wedgewood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing