We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”
Review of Beaufort Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaufort Lodge
Ranked #13 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There is excellent off road parking at the Beaufort Lodge and on arrival we were warmly greeted by owners, Don & Aylwin. This set the scene for a most pleasant stay. We were given Room No 1, which was lovely and comfortable. It has dual aspect windows, which were most welcome on the warm night for a though cooling breeze. There is a well-stocked hospitality tray and the good sized bathroom has an excellent choice of fluffy towels and toiletries. By completing a Breakfast form by 9 p.m. the previous evening and leaving this on the hall table, the requested orange juice and Tea was ready and waiting at the allotted time. The splendid full English with toast (you make yourself in your own toaster – inspired idea), followed soon after. Our table in the bright and cheerful Breakfast Room was a generous size too, so plenty of room for all the breakfast accompaniments. Beaufort Lodge is only a short stroll from the city centre making it a fabulous base for a city break. The Beaufort Lodge only has 3 bedrooms now (down sized from a larger establishment a few years back), so be sure to book early to avoid disappointment. We sure will!

Room Tip: No 1 - back of property, overlooking the Garden. Good sized, comfortable room, with small lounge out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been coming to Beaufort Lodge for many years for one week breaks, and it's always felt like a home from home. Don and Aylwin are very welcoming and friendly hosts, and have looked after me so well. The room is clean, comfortable and cosy, and the breakfast delicious - each table having an individual toaster so that guests can toast their bread to suit their taste is such a good idea, I don't know why nowhere else I know does it. Perfect location, close enough to the city centre for an easy walk or a short hop on the bus, but very peaceful too. It's a real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely room (3) ground floor , very clean and and comfortable. The really helpful couple who own the lodge gave us loads of advice on local eateries and also the best route to the theatre. After a really good nights sleep we had a well cooked breakfast in a delightful dining room overlooking the garden. Have spent the last 2 days recommending this guest house to all family and work colleagues.Will definately stay here again on our next trip to Norwich.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We'll we stayed in room 1 , very clean and quiet , the bathroom was very big with a bath and shower over the bath ,. The couple who own the lodge are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us . Would recommend this place for convenient for food and short walk to city . Would stay again when get to Norwich again .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallinBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in this great B&B for 2 nights. It's a short walk from town, and there are at least 3 places to eat within easy reach.
The room (number 1) was lovely, spacious and spotless.. The breakfast room is bright and welcoming, and the view of the garden as you eat, starts your day off just right.
The breakfast is generous with plenty of everything, and you can easily eat 3 big courses.
The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. We would definitely stay here again: one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie_bamburs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

just about to leave we stayed in room 1 they have three rooms and it is brilliant its clean its quiet at night and a great home from home . A fantastic cooked breakfast is included. we arrived about ten pm we were greeted warmly and shown our room i totally recommend this in favour of a hotel thank you for my stay and I'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 1 upstairs and it suited us fine. There is a small lounge outside the bedroom door which we used. There was no shower just one over the bath but we managed ok.
The host was delightful - very friendly and helpful. Off-road parking was good and it is 10 minutes walk to the city. We were able to leave the car there after checking out in order to walk into Norwich again. Breakfast was very good. We used it as an over-night stay when visiting the theatre. Would definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting somewhere less busy/impersonal and more reasonably priced than hotels.

Room Tip: Room 1 upstairs is at the back of the house and is quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#16 of 80 in Norwich
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#15 of 80 in Norwich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Lodge

Address: 60 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £68 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Beaufort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Lodge Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing