We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate, friendly, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort Lodge
Ranked #19 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Immaculate, friendly, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

About ten minutes walk from the part of Norwich with the greatest appeal, this B&B was ideal for us. It is quiet, friendly, offers a lovely full English breakfast. The owners appear totally committed to getting it right. The house is beautiful. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    31
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
52
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

My partner and I spent one night at the guest house which we found to be a really comfortable stay, the room was very clean and even though we were on the front of the house by the road we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good and the owners were friendly. Was good value for money and close to the city centre would recommend to others and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

We booked with Lastminute.com and got the double bedroom without bathroom. In fact, the bathroom was just accross the hall and it was exclusive to our bedroom (we could keep the door locked so no one else could use it). The owners are friendly and the place is very clean.
They did not have vegetarian sausage and I found that the breakfast food was not enough to make me satisfied. I would stay there again, though.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonhadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

…Absolutely fine. …I usually fear B’-&-B’s, –tiptoeing around someone else’s house, things being a bit grotty etc. …But no, –no fault at all to be found with Beaufort Lodge, …everything as I’d wish for. …Stayed two nights with my father (a room each), -his peculiarities were accommodated (sheet-&-blanket instead of a duvet etc), -an early breakfast was prep’ed for us (we had a 6:00 start one morning). …A B’-&-B’ to be recommended (…for a functional stay).

  • Liked — no problems encountered
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopefulcaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2007

I stayed here for a night in January, having read the reviews on tripadvsior. warm welcome and excellent room. Lots of nice little touches like sweets with the tea and coffee and a small sewing kit. Good night's sleep and excellent breakfast. The best thing about a good guest house is that you get a breakfast cooked for you and piping hot coffee - something many chain hotels could learn from.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2007

Having read the excellent reviews we were keen to stay at the Beaufort Lodge and finally our booking for one night was accepted. The accommodation was most comfortable. We were given a lovely double room at the rear of the premises which was bright, spotless and spacious. We were greeted most enthusiastically, but soon gleaned the owners to which all the fabulous reviews had been afforded have recently left this establishment . The new owners also own Hanover House next door and plans are afoot to combine the premises in some fashion. We were treated extremely well and trust that the past standards found at the Beaufort will continue.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avoncalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2006

We decided, quite late, that we would have a long weekend in Norwich, but we hadn't been for a few years so I checked tripadvisor, glad I did because the hotel we used to stay in has changed hands and is no longer up to standard!!

I contacted Beaufort Lodge and booked the room, on tripadvisor recommendation, we were not disappointed.

It was all in the detail, nothing was too much trouble, the room was bright and fresh, even a small posy of fresh flowers! Fruit and biscuits along with bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities, all part of the service!!

We had the one room that is not en suite, the bathroom is behind a door directly opposite the door to the bedroom, thoughfully towelling gowns are provided and, if you can only get this room don't worry, it really was not a problem.

Breakfast was lovely, again there was the bit about detail, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, we even got veggie sausages, the menu boasts "no sliced bread here!" no there really were no short cuts. From the lovely buttery yellow towels in the bathroom, to the tips about where to eat, what to look at during the day and a wonderful welcome. Couldn't have been better!

  • Liked — Individual decoration and wonderful welcome
  • Disliked — no problems at all
  • Tips/Secrets — book early!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Lodge

Property: Beaufort Lodge
Address: 60 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Beaufort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Lodge Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing