We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style, comfort and welcoming”
Review of Catton Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catton Old Hall
Ranked #24 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Style, comfort and welcoming”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Catton Old Hall on 12 July 2014. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room and around the house. My very wet shoes (following a walk around a wet fen) were taken to dry and we settled in.

Our stay was delightful, the premises have been beautiful restored - we stayed in a superior room which was extremely comfortable, stylish and spacious. Everything was included for our comfort and our breakfast was delicious and served in a very friendly manner. Thank you for a great experience and we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Research places to dine - we ate at the pub "Recruiting Sergeant" they were extremely stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvolvo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
83
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the Catton Old Hall for 1 night last weekend. Friendly welcome on arrival and when shown to room. Stayed in the Four Poster room which was beautifully decorated and spacious and had a separate seating area (and storage area for longer stays)and was the size of a suite. Bathroom large and nicely fitted out with very soft . There were also bathrobes available if needed. A nice touch was to be offered fresh milk for our tea/coffee which arrived in a vintage style small bottle. Tea/Coffee tray was presented nicely with lovely cups/saucers and teapot, that made it feel individual. Also had some nice shortbread on the tray again individual rather than the bulk buy feel of other hotels. Mini-bar well stocked and reasonable prices compared to other places we have stayed and the white wine was nice. Bed was very comfy and lovely view from both windows onto the garden. Breakfast choice good and cooked breakfast very nice and arrived quickly after ordering, even though all the other tables were also full. Nicely presented tables with individual touches again that you would not get in a larger hotel. We did not use the garden as we were out in the evening, but walked around the next day and there are lots of seats so you would not be sitting on top of other guests. We were out in the evening and while we were not late back it was good to have our own key to get back in. Enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend. (we are originally local from 2 nearby villages, but this would be a good base from which to explore Norwich and Norfolk)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed last night in this fantastic Bed and Breakfast, the owners bent over backwards to assist us and were genuinely lovely people. Beautiful room and a lovely breakfast this morning but unfortunately we were witness to a rather large aggressive man screaming like a fishwife at the owners about charging his card. The poor owners were at a loss to calm the situation and exited gracefully. We did feel sorry for them and even after the misfortune of witnessing this behaviour we will be returning to this lovely B and B for what was, apart from this incident, a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is lovely, smaller size room but exclusive courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for a night too celebrate a 30th birthday and from the minute we booked we couldn't of asked for any more the owners are some of the most helpfull people we have met. Nothing was too much trouble , the rooms were immaculate , incredibly spacious and clean we were made to feel at home and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Nicola and Jason for a fantastic weekend from the rowdy 30th birthday group.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedg220979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Could not fault. However I had booked us in for or wedding evening and the next day/evening. first night from around 4am all you could here was the creaking of the floor boards above! Breakfast cold but ok. The next day around 2pm we had a call from the hospital as my now wife's father is terminally ill with cancer and immediate family had to be there ASAP, so went and explained and payed for the night we didn't stay or the breakfast in the morning £125 witch I didn't mind at all however now received a email wanting my card details for the mini bar in witch we had 2 small glasses of wine 2 cookies and 1 hot chocolate!!!!! Have they no compassion. Well up too you folks what you do but my friends,family or we will ever frequent the place again. Discussed!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CattonOldHall, Manager at Catton Old Hall, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
When asked how you slept you said "it was wonderful" When asked how your breakfast was you said "amazing".
I cant comment on what time you received your phone call but as for leaving the Hall at 2pm? Really? This is simply not true, but you know that.
It appears our bad review from you is simply because we asked you to pay for wine that you had from the mini bar. Compassion does not mean giving away free alcohol. We displayed compassion when you turned up two hours early to check in and we bent over backwards to help you. Even finishing off the cleaning while you were in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was `bought` by the reviews of others and the photographs of the rooms taken by others. I was quite surprised by the locality of Catton Old Hall and did expect that there would be perhaps an area of interest nearby, or a decent pub to walk to, but there isn`t, - that is the ONLY criticism that even the pickiest of guests could say in relation to this guest house. The photograph of the house and the room we stayed in, second floor with vaulted ceiling, was exactly what I expected and the bed and pillows were really sumptuous. Everything about the house is absolutely beautiful with the most tasteful touches, and with every nicety that the hosts could offer to make your stay in an almost home from home atmosphere, including real milk in your fridge. A tip; Contact them directly instead of using a booking web site. It will save them paying a booking fee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived Saturday (an hour early) and were given such a warm welcome we almost decided there and then we would become regulars. Loved the house, loved the room, loved the hosts, loved the breakfast. We will be going back!

Room Tip: The William Bussey Superior room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.7 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
#17 of 80 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wayside B&B
Wayside B&B
#25 of 80 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
10.6 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catton Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catton Old Hall

Property: Catton Old Hall
Address: Lodge Lane | Old Catton, Norwich NR6 7HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Catton Old Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGMENT Hidden in suburbia and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city lies Catton Old Hall, a quirky Grade II listed home dating from 1632 full creaky charm. There is free on-site parking with regular city bus route nearby. Perfect for romantic getaways, shopping trips, city breaks or as a base for exploring the Norfolk Broads. This gorgeous 5* B and B taken over by local couple Jason and Nicola in Jan 2014. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catton Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catton Old Hall Hotel Norwich
Catton Old Hall Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing