We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Space Here”
Review of Catton Old Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catton Old Hall
Ranked #26 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plenty of Space Here”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

An interesting and historic house in a quiet suburban location on the north side of Norwich, handily placed for the airport and its park and ride. Our rooms were enormous - the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms I have had in London! A very well stocked honesty bar and a pleasant lounge, also a sitting out area at the back of the house. Very good breakfast with fresh local produce such as Norfolk honey. Apart from a slightly more forceful shower, one could not want anything else. If you are the kind of person who likes chatty owners to fuss over you this would not be the place for you, but preferring to be left to our own devices we had no problem with that.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehmetsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CattonOldHall, Owner at Catton Old Hall, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Everyone loves the size of the rooms here. I wish you had mentioned the problem with the shower when you were here but the taps and shower have been replaced since your visit which has increased the pressure. We are glad you appreciated the privacy we afford guests as we recognise that the majority of our guests (apart from the business guests) are couples who come here to spend some much needed and all too often infrequent time together and don't want any unnecessary intrusions. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    20
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
83
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Beds extremely comfortable. Dianne, the Manager, was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. Had to wait a while for the shower to warm up and wasn't the most powerful. As others have said, it would be nice to have sky, not just the 4 channels, but otherwise very happy and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CattonOldHall, Owner at Catton Old Hall, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are delighted by your kind words and that you had an pleasurable time staying in our home. It was a pity you did not mention the problem with the shower at the time of stay as we discovered shortly afterwards a problem with it and it was immediately replaced with a brand new power shower. The TVs have since been upgraded either to LCD or LED digital TVs with Freeview. We hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife, 12 year old son and I travelled to Catton Old Hall on Sunday, December 27th for a 3 night stay arriving at 3.30 p.m. after a 2 1/2 hour drive,(1/2 hour before the normal but somewhat late check in time (note: when I booked I advised we would likely arrive around 3.00 p.m.).
My wife and son rang the bell while I got the bags from the car. They were met by the person I assume is the lady owner in complete silence!
I joined them a few seconds later and despite my attempt at show a bright, engaging demenour was similarly met with silence, ushered into a reception area and told the layout of the building and rules (breakfast between 8am-9am, although on December 28th 9am-10 am as it was a holiday!). Not, how was your journey, welcome to Catton Old Hall, welcome drink, nothing....
We were shown to our room which was freezing cold, the heating is on a timer which doesn't come on until at least the 4.00 p.m. check in time (note to owner - most rooms need a while to warm up!).
Our Superior room (see main pictures - top line on right) was in the annex at the back of the original property. It is a nice cottage style room with four poster, although some of the soft furnishings and fittings in the room and bathroom had a distinctly '70's feel, not helped by a new but old fashioned dark blue carpet extending into the toilet/bathroom.
Returning from the cinema at around 9.30 p.m., we thought we would try out the lounge and play a game. There is no radio or television but it did have a lovely Xmas tree and you got a sense of the age of this historic building. However, the room itself was empty, cold and had a TV blaring out above in what we summised was the owners quarters. We retired back to our room after 10 minutes!
We had our "late" and very silent breakfast the next morning (just one other coulpe and a virutally silent owner) and retired back to our room for showers and to get ready for our day in Norwich. My wife went third and last at around 10.30 a.m., drawing the short straw because, you probably guessed it, the water is also on a timer and was stone cold!
We were out late that night so uneventful going back to our room.
Went to another very quiet breakfast at 8.30 a.m. ish...the next morning on our holiday break (9.30 ish...would have been wonderful) and returned to our room to get ready safe in the knowledge we would have heating and water because of the time..or so we thought!
My wife wanted a bath (there was a jacuzzi bath, although not sure how this gets cleaned properly given the hot water is on a timer?). I duly ran this for her.
When I got my turn to use the shower over the bath, yes, you've guessed it, there was no hot water and so for the second day running one of our party had a stone cold shower in a room costing £100 per night.
My wife told me to not cause an argument so I reluctantly bit my tongue and we headed out for the day returning at around 9.00 p.m to a very quiet empty and soulless house.
Our third morning went without problem other than another very quiet and early breakfast.
We exchanged no more than a haf a dozen words at checkout as my bright, engaging demenour had well and truly disappeared. I paid our £300 bill and that was it...not, how was your stay, have you had a good visit to Norwich, look forward to you visiting again, have a good journey etc etc.....
We have stayed at numerous B&B's and hotels over the years and while I can think of a few that were not so nice, we have never stayed anywhere that has made us feel so unwelcome and had such a cold and lifeless atmosphere.
I do realise this review goes against some of the earlier reviews. The "little" extras such as a teddy bear on the pillow, tea facilities in the room and honesty bar will go a long way for many people and was, indeed, not lost on us. However, all of these positives were completely overshadowed by what we can only describe as a dreadful 3 day experience at a very high priced B&B - I think the most we have paid previously was £85 at a wonderful welcoming B&B in the Cotswolds.
I can only suggest that, unless you are spending just one night between the hours of 4.00 p.m. and 9.00 a.m., don;t need a bath and a shower and don't mind paying around £100 for the experience, you would be much better off spending your money (less most likely) at a hotel or other B&B where you might get a better and warmer reception and to just look at Catton Old House from the outside in the 1970's residential area in which it now sits.
n.b. I think the note of September 16th identified a very similar issue.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lawrence434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

i booked this hotel for my son and his new bride on their wedding night, they loved it, the hotel staff put rose petals on the bed, wine and chocs in the room, what a perfect start to their married life, they both could not stop talking about it all the next day, they loved every thing, the room, the breakfast, the staff, everyone made them feel speical, and were congratulting them both, THANK YOU CATTON HALL,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CattonOldHall, Owner at Catton Old Hall, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to leave your review and feedback on your son and his new wife's stay with us. We have many guests come here and book the Anna Sewell room for honeymoons and anniversaries and we are so pleased they too loved their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

It's a great building, room was terrific (you have to like or put up with the country house look) and breakfast was OK (apart from the funereal music). But the owner really needs to cheer up, say hello, force a smile. Plus the £5.50 corkage is a rip-off but I presume everyone just smuggles wine in like we did. It's a good place but not exactly full of joy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights, purpose of visit to do xmas shopping.
could not fault this place at all, the room was lovley we stayed in the double superior which also had a lovley big bath complete with jacuzzi, breakfast was delicous, good choice and freshly cooked.
the owners are friendly and make you feel very welcome, would not hesitate to recommend this place as great place to stay.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FATBUTFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Booked in for two nights B&B for a short break in Norwich - - This is a marvellous place to stay -- Friendly service, beautiful rooms, a great honesty bar to help yourself, and delicious breakfasts. If you ever wondered what 5 star rating accommodation really means then this is it!
The Old Hall does not do lunch or evening meals but there are great pubs and restaurants around -

Just what you need when exploring an area and meeting people

  • Liked — relaxation
  • Disliked — can't fault it!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scots_in_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.4 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Hautbois Hall
Hautbois Hall
#41 of 80 in Norwich
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
#17 of 80 in Norwich
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catton Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catton Old Hall

Property: Catton Old Hall
Address: Lodge Lane | Old Catton, Norwich NR6 7HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Catton Old Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGMENT Hidden in suburbia and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city lies Catton Old Hall, a quirky Grade II listed home dating from 1632 full creaky charm. There is free on-site parking with regular city bus route nearby. Perfect for romantic getaways, shopping trips, city breaks or as a base for exploring the Norfolk Broads. This gorgeous 5* B and B taken over by local couple Jason and Nicola in Jan 2014. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catton Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catton Old Hall Hotel Norwich
Catton Old Hall Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing