We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One not to miss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell

Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell
Ranked #13 of 140 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell proudly tells the story of the city and its people. The museum is now fully accessible and refurbished after a £1.5m redevelopment project. Come pay us a visit! The ancient building is packed full of collections and displays, with lots to enjoy by all the family. Highlights include the last surviving Jacquard loom in the city, fully restored to full working order, a recreated chemist shop, countless fantastic shoes, as well as engineering marvels, such as the world's first wire netting machine. Catch a film in our mini cinema, relax in the 1950s living room or listen to local people sharing their memories of the city. Find us in the heart of the charming Norwich Lanes area. We would love to welcome you to this unique museum.
Southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you want to know the commercial history of norwich then this is a must.All done in a very easy to digest way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank popslion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridewellMuseum, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to post a review, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to Norwich, and the Bridewell Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    63
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good museum, worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a very informative and interesting museum about the social life and economic history of Norwich and East Anglia. The people behind it really manage to convey the sense of pride of their city that a lot of people still have. I was very impressed with the room on textile production in Norwich, a tradition that goes back to the Huguenots who once came to this free spirited city! The curators also manage to show aspects of hardship and poverty and te everyday lives of people. If you have an interest in social history of pre-industrialised England, this museum is a must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Exilaustrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridewellMuseum, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi, thank you very much for your detailed review, we are so pleased that you noticed in particular the sense of pride in the city of Norwich that is reflected in the Bridewell Museum. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“bridewell museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I took my three granddaughters to visit the museum and they thoroughly enjoyed it. The museum is full of artefacts from the past of old Norwich and its manufacturing base. The boot and shoe. Industry, Colmans mustard , Drinks, Laurence &Scot , Boulton & Paul's , the list is endless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank canaryfan0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridewellMuseum, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi, thank you for taking time to post a review of the Bridewell Museum. We are glad to hear your grandchildren enjoyed their visit as much as you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent History Lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'm not a native of Norwich but the visit to the Bridewell was a great experience. My aunt who was born in Norwich but hadn't been back for 47 years was impressed, especially with the staff who helped her find locations of yesteryear. Great museum, with great staff and well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank costesseytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridewellMuseum, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi, thank you for posting a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit, your aunt must have seen many changes in the city after being away for almost 50 years! I will pass your positive comments about our staff on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cracking little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Finally open again now and after my first visit to the refurbished building, well worth it. A great little history of the city of Norwich and plenty packed inside to keep you interested.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridewellMuseum, Manager at Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Jason, thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and you found lots to interest you. We hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing