We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Felbrigg Hall

Felbrigg Hall
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really enjoyed our dog walk around the Felbrigg Hall grounds. We didn't visit the house but enjoyed ourselves enough without it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    355
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“interesting place to see”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

the hall and gardens are very nice however it is limited for children. the idea of letting local people cultivate allotments was a good concept and interesting to see in action. The hall has lots of things but for young people the activity is limited although the garden has a lovely area for the children to play oin the willow tunnel and wigwam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladybird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spikeybb
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Walled Gardens”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having lived in Norfolk all my life and recently becoming National Trust members, we thought it was about time to visit the NT properties close to home. The Hall is accessed via a long driveway off the main road. Parking area is ample and free to NT members, £2.00 for non members. The house is quite small in comparison to other NT properties. Volunteers were on hand to answer any questions about the rooms however, they were not so engaging as volunteers in some of the other properties we have been to. We did not get to see any of the bedrooms in the house. I'm not sure if this was because these were closed to the public or whether we missed them on our tour around the house, but we felt more rooms could have been opened to the public. Photography is allowed in the house but no flash photography.

The highlight for us was the Walled Gardens which were impeccably maintained and contained numerous varieties of flowers and vegetables. Some of the garden is rented to the public for them to use as their own allotment which was a lovely idea.

The cafe offered snacks and drinks however, we thought the service was incredibly slow, taking approximately 10 minutes to serve the two customers ahead of us.

Overhall, the visit was pleasant, especially on a nice summer's day. You would need to give yourself a good 3 hours to get everything in, including a walk around the woodland area and grounds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank spikeybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
407 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a super hall with a truly outstanding walled garden of herbaceous splendour in July. We enjoyed the half hour introductory talk outside the hall recounting the fascinating Wyndham family history, and the arrangement of the rooms true to various moments in history. After that, the colour of the walled garden enthralled us. We were lucky that the nearby church and its crypt were open too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This deserves better advertising!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Came across the sign for this while out in Norfolk. We then tried to find a leaflet to see what was there but found there wasn't a dedicated one in any tourist information.
Anyway, went along and had a wonderful day. The Hall itself is very interesting, the walled gardens outstanding and the restaurant/cafe lovely.
If you have time, take the well signed walk to the lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wizking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Felbrigg Hall also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Felbrigg Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing