We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe!”

Prince of Wales Road
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unsafe!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Prince of Wales road was once a splendid Georgian toad lined with the offices of respectable solicitors and insurance brokers. Today though, after dark it's filled with louts who, between falling in to puddles of their own vomit, have punch ups on the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeonthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    10
    20
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MERCY SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF ITS DOOR STAFF”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Have to write a review after picking my sister up from Mercy last night ... The door staff man handled my sister without good reason, lifted her off her feet and then threw her to the floor when if they wanted her out all they had to do was ask her or walk her to the door like normal human beings.

I have a voice mail message where I can hear her ask "what did we do wrong? We did nothing wrong" her friends were really upset at the way they were treated. Some people are given these Sia Badges and it goes to their heads - I myself have one and could if I were a mindless thug behave in such a way but why would I?

Will be writing to the club, the council and the Security Standards Authority and on every social media page as this thuggish kind of behaviour needs to stop. They were 5 grown women out on the town celebrating a baby being born - they were having a great night until the 'bouncers' decided they wanted to make a big deal out of absolutely nothing.

My dad was a door supervisor for 16 years, he helped people. stopped fights, and girls from getting date raped - He was an absolute gent.

Take a leaf out of his book .... Absolutely disgusted, its DISGRACEFUL how Mercy night clubs 'Door Supervisors' get away with this kind of behaviour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank kelsterkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lined with Nightclubs”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Many of Norwich's nigh clubs can be found on this road along with fast food outlets. It leads to the station and Riverside where more clubs can be found. Not a place to visit on a Friday and Saturday night unless you are young and out clubbing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freelance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Well known night spot/trouble spot”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Prince of Wales Road is just an average road in Norwich by day, but comes alive at night with numerous late opening bars, clubs and take-aways. Because of this there is the likelihood of idiots who get aggressive and kick off after a bit of drink causing a scene!!! For me and my friends who are not looking for trouble however it is just the area we walk to from Tombland to catch a taxi and a bite to eat. I've even had a sit down Indian meal here at 2 am; seemed a good idea at the time, but not great. Yes it gets a bit rowdy, but there are streets like this in all cities, and there is always a high police presence at the weekends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Run-down and full of take-aways”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is one of the historic streets of Norwich but it is now scruffy, run down and full of cheap bars and take-away restaurants, Avoid at night during the weekend as it is full of drunk and disorderlys!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J0B69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince of Wales Road also viewed

 

Been to Prince of Wales Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing