We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, wow, wow”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
90 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie C
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, wow, wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Hill House - really can't recommend it enough. The house itself is beautiful - really nicely done and very tasteful. We were given a warm greeting and shown around the house and then taken in to the kitchen where champagne and lemon meringue cupcakes were waiting. It was hard to wait for the rest of the group to arrive and not get stuck in!

We were staying there as a large group of friends, some of whom had young children - including myself. Everything has been thought of at Hill House and the Baby Station is a genius idea. Those of you with small children will know that you usually have to take half your house when you're going away. Not the case with Hill House - they provided most of the essentials you would need when travelling with little ones. Darren was really helpful on email beforehand and gave us numbers of taxi firms etc which was great.

We arranged for Bill the fish and chip man to come and cook for us on the Friday night and what a treat that was. The food was so lovely and fresh and he was super friendly and nice. We went for the Bespoke dinner on the Saturday night and Tara and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty. It was such an brilliant evening and I would recommend it for anyone going there for a celebration.

If you're looking for a big house with all the mod cons and home comforts for a week or weekend with friends/family/both, then I couldn't recommend Hill House highly enough. We had a truly magical weekend. Thank you so much Darren and team.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Hi Bonnie, THANK YOU !!! We loved looking after you all and I'm so glad that we delivered. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - really appreciated ! Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyddy28
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Once you reach the house up the long drive your holiday begins. We were celebrating 50 years of marriage with our children and grandchildren. There were fifteen of us plus Lola the dog. The ages ranged from 72 years old down to 4 years old. This house is beautiful and everything was provided, even a bowl of Easter eggs for an egg hunt!!! The hall led to an oak dining room and a TV lounge. The kitchen is homely and very well equipped with all you need. There is a huge pantry and separate laundry room. Off this is a delightful games room which the children loved. The other side of the hall is a very large comfortable lounge. If you look on their website, all the photographs are genuine, in fact the house is even more spacious and attractive than they give justice to. All the bedrooms and bathrooms are large. It is very well looked after and the grounds too are welcoming with a tennis court and pizza oven. We picked a wonderful spot and had a very memorable stay. I just cant recommend it more!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The lounge which was peaceful and had a great log fire.
Liked least: I can honestly say there was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you for the review. We're really glad that you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for recommending us. One of your friends has been in touch about a 70th birthday booking in December :) :) All the best, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Don't think twice - book it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed en famille to celebrate parents golden wedding anniversary. It was amazing. We only left the house once to go for a walk as it was so comfortable we didn't want to leave - never bored. A range of ages from 72 to 4 and every one of us was totally occupied the whole time. The most wonderful warm feeling permeates every room of the house - so much room for all of us, to be together or have time on your own, whatever you want. Never crowded. The kitchen does not lack for a thing - totally equipped with things you didn't even know you needed! Aga stove, two fridges, games room full of games, gorgeous grounds…..seriously - just book it - you will love it.

I have a few bits of feedback that I will email Darren, but these would no way prevent me from staying there again (as often as possible!):

1. There is only one bath towel and hand towel per person for a three day stay - I would suggest a towel cupboard with spare towels.
2. I spent ages trying to research the history of the house - i was fascinated by it - it is beautiful. I couldn't find much at all. I would have loved to have had a book or some information on the history of the house. It would have enhanced my stay.
3. It would be nice to have some comfortable garden furniture around the pond where we could have sat and chilled out.

To summarise - WE LOVED IT.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the house
Liked least: No history of the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Very kind to take the time to review us and thank you for some really constructive feedback. I hope we get to see you again. All the best, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther G
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We recently stayed here with a large group of friends for a joint 40th birthday celebration. The house itself is stunning. All of the bedrooms were gorgeous, each with their own character. From the beamed attic rooms to the first floor large, contemporary room with walk in showers - there's something for everyone.
The drawing room was large and ideal for a party. The cocktails that came with the Bespoke Dinner option were superb. We also loved the cosy cinema room for chilling out and enjoying the lovely view of the garden from its large windows.
The games room was an added bonus and much enjoyed, as was the tennis court.
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fish n chips from Bill's van. Yum! And as for the Bespoke dinner - the food was delicious, well presented and served with a smile. We found the staff to be friendly but not intrusive. Perfect!
Darren was so helpful and, as many others have said, really has thought of everything. The golf & spa at Dunston Hall were an added bonus too.
We totally recommend this place... and hope to be back one day. Thanks Darren & the team at Hill House.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for the review. It's really great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. The Bespoke and fish and chip offerings are really going down well and I'll make sure that the team has read this.....All the best, Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry T
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing house, everything thought of, making it a perfect stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I have just got back from the best weekend. Hill House has so much to offer. Darren has thought of everything. All of the rooms are clean, spacious, stylish and well kitted out. From the amazing sound system which can be played in nearly every room, to the luxury bathrooms and the comfy bedrooms to the contemporary artwork.This is a man who has really taken his time to think how he can make this the most enjoyable stay for his guests. For example even the small things like popcorn and DVDs in the tv room. The house has a dogs room which has shelves of dog treats, and in another room a cupboard with all baby needs like nappies and food. They had even put bread butter and milk in the fridge for us. Also it has a great games room, table tennis outside, area to play football and tennis court.
If anything The pictures don't do this place justice. I cant recommend this house enough, in
fact I will probably go back and stay next year.
Great stay 10/10
Thanks Darren.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thanks for coming to stay Henry and thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Hope we get to see you again....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCook
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, perfect for our celebration 10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Family and Friends stayed at Hill House to celebrate my husbands "60th Birthday surprise".
From speaking to Darren, I felt at ease with the booking and the suggestions he made. As this was found on the internet and not recommended, I was a little apprehensive.
On arrival we were welcomed in a very friendly way and show all over the house, it was just brilliant. From arriving at the front door we were overwhelmed, and it didn't end there, mind you the cup cake and champagne reception helped.
The house was fantastic, not one of us could find any faults we loved it. The bedrooms were clean and tastefully decorated, with everything provided. The downstairs was spacious and quirky, we loved the decor and the two lounges, the men were inpressed with the B & O music system. Large kitchen clean and perfect, with everything you could possibly need, great for a crowd that always seems to end up there, and the games room an added bonus.
Unlimited Golf and use of the Spa and Pool at Dunstan Hall was great, though on the third day the ladies decided they preferred to stay at the house, because it was so lovely and they didn't want to waste time going someplace else.
We had the fish and chip man come with his van on Friday, the quality was excellent. Then the Bespoke meal on the Saturday, Fantastic. Cocktail reception, then a three course meal. The food was to die for and the service brilliant, everything was cleared up and gone before we knew it, though we did make a point of all telling the chief the food was 1st class and the presentation perfect.
I could not recommend Hill House highly enough, all my friends and family now know about it and I will carry on recommending it to everybody.
Well done Darren, you have a brilliant house and the staff are so friendly and helpful we just loved the whole experience.
Can't wait to go back next year, wont be looking anywhere else.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a 60th birthday weekend and everything was perfect, beautiful house, fantastically furnished and equipped. From the Fish and Chip van on the friday night to our Saturday night special evening where we were waited on hand and foot through to the free access to the local golf course and spa, it could not have been better.

Thankyou for allowing us to experience your beautiful house. Have already recommended it to friends and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Too many things to choose, all perfect
Liked least: Leaving to go home!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,027
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing