We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broadview Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
US$98
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stower Grange(Drayton)
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
29
40
16
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
40
16
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomuniversity campusrooms are smallconvenient accommodationgraduation weeksmall fridgesports centrebiscuitsb bbus servicereception staff arebottled watertea and coffee facilitiescity centrenice roomfree parkingcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I travelled to UEA to visit my son and as I was arriving late in the evening Broadview Lodge seemed the ideal place to stay. Having walked around campus trying to find it and then being met with a locked unmanned reception I finally gained access via the security office. This was a friday evening and student parties were already under way at 10.00pm at night, which is fine - that's what Uni life and young people are all about, but I didn't expect to be paying £60 for a room directly above the parties! The room was very clean but that is about all I can say which is positive. It was extremely hot and stuffy and the window didn't open (although I understand why with all the noise from below). Constant throb of music until the early hours and a bathroom same as in my son's uni room was not what I expected. Never again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The rooms here are much more pleasant and modern to stay in than a lot of university guest accommodation that was furnished in the 70s/80s, but unfortunately Broadview Lodge suffers the same lack of services as most B&Bs in this sector - the campus is in the middle of nowhere and most of its facilities do not open in the evening when you're likely to use them if you're staying here.

Norwich takes so long to reach from some other parts of the UK that if you have to visit UEA you are likely to stay overnight and are also likely to arrive the evening before. By this time there is nowhere to get hot food or even a cold sandwich on campus and no food is for sale at the lodge except crisps and sweets from a vending machine. If reception could provide even just heat-up sandwiches and a microwave I'm sure they could turn a profit at a hefty mark-up! The room rate does include free cooked or continental breakfast at the university canteen which (as usual) is in a separate building 5 minutes or so's walk away. Internet access isn't included in the price and the BT Openzone voucher I purchased did not work from the room I was in.

Although this isn't the fault of the accommodation management company, the campus shop was closed for staff training on the morning of my stay so it wasn't even possible to buy a newspaper without walking 20 minutes off campus to a petrol station....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I am a graduate of UEA so there is nothing else but my sincere hope for them to improve their service here at Broadview Lodge. It was built as a part of their income generating activities and very is convenient for university businesses but it is the only good thing about the place. There was a constant vibrating noise from somewhere so it was far from being quiet. Room was seriously hot and I had to open the window and took all my clothing off in order to tolerate overnight without a minute of sleep. I looked for a way to make a complaint but after 9PM, there is no receptionist so I could do nothing about it. Nowhere decent to eat on campus and the City Centre is long way away, so you feel you are really stuck particularly if you arrive on Sunday. Their breakfast is one of those typical university canteen food. I ate due to my nostalgia and only found out that it has not changed since 20 yrs ago (so in a way, I was not disappointed). Their asking price is far too much for what they provide and their booking website is often down: I have just tried it now and it was not working. They charge for your internet use on top of the already expensive room charge, too. Oh dear...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enjoydifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para o extenso gramado à frente do prédio são melhores que os de fundo.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews