We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Broadview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadview Lodge
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cheap but very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference in September and found the accommodation to be very basic. The single bed was not particularly comfortable and the shower room was set up so that as a tall man I could not fit under the shower head. There was a loud buzzing noise outside my bedroom door all night on the second night that I stayed which disrupted my sleep. The location is great for the University and the rooms cheap but it was not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am so sorry that your sleep was disrupted when you stayed with us. I have investigated the cause of the 'buzzing' sound and have asked our Estates department to adjust the air flow system on our bedroom corridor since this appears to have been the source of the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    38
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
27
6
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed over night before the September open day. The rooms are basic but very clean, with nice toiletries and tea, coffee and biscuits etc. a mini fridge was a welcome surprise too. The shower room is basic, but we stayed to get an impression of life on campus and that was achieved. Waking up to such a beautiful view was wonderful. the campus is very green and landscaped with trees and hanging baskets. Breakfast was a short walk away and a nice touch were the umbrellas supplied in each room to use as you walked to breakfast. The breakfast in INTO cafe was good and the staff very friendly. Perhaps not up to holiday inn express standards, but we would stay again if the need arose.

Room Tip: Room 48 was nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments. I hope that we helped make your open day experience a pleasurable one. Broadview Lodge is the ideal venue for an overnight stay on UEA campus. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Staff were excellent, helpful & friendly, the room had everything you needed, was clean but basic. The noise was the worse thing, I could here guests coming & going all night & early morning. As I was near the lift the doors and The 'Ping' sound got on my nerves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback concerning your September stay with us. New students join UEA each September and unfortunately their excitement tends to be rather exuberant at times. This usually settles down once studies begin. Our colleagues in Security are happy to help with any noise issues if guests call them from the phones in the bedrooms, and are very good at quietening students in a friendly and understanding manner to the benefit of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during a heatwave. My room was about 30C, and the bedding was a thick duvet. The fan made little impression, but it did help me sleep. I could not open the window, despite asking about this at reception. On the 2nd day I discovered how to unlatch it, but a chain prevents full opening. However, the campus location is wonderful!

Room Tip: On arrival, get window opening instructions and suitable bedding before reception closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Unfortunately we are unable to install air conditioning to Broadview Lodge and during the hot Summer this meant that the rooms were very hot at times. Extra fans will be provided by reception staff upon request (subject to availability) and we also have extra sheets for use instead of the duvet.
I do hope that we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lusaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Broadview as a family during a visit to the University and allthough the staff were very friendly and helpful there was not enough value for the money spent. The rooms are small with student type bathrooms which are not suitable if you compare it to a B & B or hotel, we stayed all over the UK and the bathrooms were all superior. The location was convenient as it was within UEA campus but on the one night we couldn't sleep due to the fracass the students were making. Next time we will look for some where to stay in town and then use the bus to campus or taxi (cheaper for a family of 4).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LusakaBomanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The most convenient reason to stay at Broadview is if you have business on campus. But if you have any choice, esp. in the summer, find another location. Though outside temperatures at night were a comfortable 62-64 degrees c., it was unbearably hot and stuffy in the room (3rd floor facing west). The fan made little difference and my stay was extremely uncomfortable. There is no way to adjust temperature in the room and no way to find relief. Campus food is...well...campus food. Norwich is such a lovely town and if you have a choice, find different lodging in the summer and eat off campus. It's not difficult to get a bus or taxi to and from town to campus. The campus is lovely(though construction activity was everywhere) and there are good walks around the river. Also lots of rabbits on campus esp. at dusk and early morning. Whimsical...but, when you are sleep deprived from lack of comfortable sleep, it makes little difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denver64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - we really do appreciate all feedback from our guests. Unfortunately we are unable to install air conditioning to Broadview Lodge which does mean that on exceptionally sunny days the rooms can become hot. Usually this resolves itself when the sun sets, but if it is a hot, close night, then the fan provided in the bedroom becomes an essential. We also have fans cooling the main corridors during very warm weather.
Reception staff will be pleased to supply extra fans (subject to availability) upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at Broadview Lodge for a weekend conference and had extended my stay for a few extra nights to enjoy the city. Upon booking, the staff were very friendly and professional. The location was convenient for the conference that was held on campus, and it was easy to jump on and off the 25 bus to get to and from the city center which was only about 20 minutes away. The rooms are kept clean as there is a daily cleaning service, and it is nice to come back to a sorted room after a long day. However, the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and during the summer the rooms had poor air circulation, which made it nearly impossible to get a good nights sleep. Additionally, the WiFi is terrible, which was frustrating in terms of getting any preparation done for the conference. The BTOpenZone that is offered is extremely expensive, and even when an overpriced pass is purchased, my devices did not seem to stay connected to the network for more than a couple minutes. Other conference attendees noted similar frustrations with the service. Eventually, I just gave up on trying to connect, and I had wasted valuable time as well as a good amount of money for limited internet access. The breakfasts are decent, though a short walk away. Overall, I would only recommend staying here if you are on a tight student budget and need to be on campus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olwyn e, Manager at Broadview Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your comments. I am happy to advise that we now have free wi-fi available to all of our guests. Our IT department at the university just need to be advised of guests' e-mail adresses so that user names and passwords maybe sent prior to visits. I am sure that this will be a most welcome development for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
7.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadview Lodge

Property: Broadview Lodge
Address: Waveney Rd | University of East Anglia, Norwich NR4 7TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Norwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Broadview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadview Lodge Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing