We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal”
Review of Winepress@wensum

Winepress@wensum
Ranked #244 of 856 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were staying at the Maids Head hotel we had a good breakfast and decided to try an evening meal in the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was superb and wonderful value for money. If we stay again we will certainly eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Winepress@wensum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Roy P,
I am glad that you enjoyed your meal while staying at The Maids Head Hotel and I hope we see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed an evening meal and a hearty breakfast at the Winepress restaurant during an overnight stay at the Maids Head Hotel next door and were delighted by the quality of the food and friendly/helpful service by Matthew, our waiter. Highlight for us was a dessert that featured every imaginable culinary form of rhubarb, beautifully presented as a series of eye- and mouth-watering miniatures. Outstanding and will definitely return for more gourmet delights!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Winepress@wensum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Julian H,
I am delighted to read that you had such a pleasant dining experience with us and we look forward to serving you more gourmet delights in the future!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We came her for a special occasion with friends due to the reviews but for us personally, it was a disaster. Service was atrocious, table booked for 8pm, finally got our starters ate 9.25, food mediocre. We didn’t order a dessert as would have got that in time for breakfast, food luke warm - we were given discount on the meal and free drinks and then also a complimentary meal as our experience was so bad but unfortunately, on our return visit, the service wasn’t quite as poor but still a very long wait for ordering, food being served, we were even served up the wrong starters for two of us, none came for the other guests and then 5 mins later, they took ours away as wrong table, it was for the table next door. Very unprofessional, unappealing food, no atmosphere - would not visit again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Winepress@wensum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear hillviewengland,
I am sorry to read you had such disappointing experiences with us. We pride ourselves on the standard of service we offer and as you can see from other guests we usually get it right. We obviously did not manage this for your table and for that I offer my apologies and those of the restaurant team.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We celebrated a special occasion and chose this restaurant hoping to end a perfect day with a terrific special meal. We were not disappointed we were met by our waiter Matthew who ensured that we had absolutely the perfect eating experience, all the staff led by Katherine were very attentive and made our stay special. The starter, main and dessert were chosen from an excellent menu, the wine list was of a very high standard, really excellent. The hotel "the Maids Head" was like stepping back in time when the comfort of the guest was all that mattered. We recommend this to you if you want a peaceful meal supported by well trained and attentive staff in period surroundings. Miss this at your peril.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melvyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Winepress@wensum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Melvyn V
What a lovely review of your dinner at the Winepress. The whole team, and especially those mentioned, will be very honoured that you thought so highly of your meal. We hope you will join us again soon!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Maids Head Hotel and ate in the Winepress restaurant which is a separate concern from the hotel itself. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and when asked for recommendations gave advice we found to be good. The food was first rate, interesting, locally sourced and cooked to perfection. I would particularly commend Rob for his excellent service.

I would not hesitate to eat here again next time we're in Norwich.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Winepress@wensum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Fiona B,
Thank you for your kind review of your meal at the Winepress. Rob will be proud to have been commended and the rest of the team will be happy that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winepress@wensum also viewed

 

Been to Winepress@wensum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing