We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this place”
Review of Norwich Playhouse

Norwich Playhouse
Ranked #31 of 144 things to do in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I really like this place”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have visited the Playhouse many times and I have always had a good experience show wise and having a drink before the show. Cannot agree with other reviewer who said its expensive I found it cheaper than most places and have called in when passing by just for a drink.The theatre is a nice size for the shows( usually comedy for me)and is comfortable and shows are usually a good price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ding01954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    56
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere for drinks”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very fun and nicely decorated. Really like the refurbishments made recently with the new set of toilets. A great place to sit and have a drink in the summer. Not a huge amount of seating in the winter inside. Rather expensive but nice none-the-less.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great end to a lovely day in Norwich.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

After a day on the Broads I meandered through Norwich from the rail station. I hadn't bought a ticket on line but thought I could go the nearby cinema if need be if play was sold out. Tickets go on sale one hour before show time if available and I was in luck. Got a local brew from the bar a meal from the deli and sat in the room beside the box office. Quieter than the bar I could charge my phon AND got into conversation with someone involved in the play. Thoroughly enjoyed "Kiss Me Figaro" by the Merry Opera Co.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely small theatre, great comedy shows”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely small theatre, great comedy shows. Very friendly, and big enough to be a good crowd, but small enough to be able to see/hear from anywhere. Lovely staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyseasidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Love this place. If I ever want to see a show locally then I always check to see if the Playhouse is showing it first.The theatre itself is small, compact and friendly. I describe this place as somewhere I can go to relax of an evening to enjoy a show. The staff are always friendly. The outside bar/cafe is great too. I've been a few times now and will continue to do so in the future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamsarnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norwich Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Norwich Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing