We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sewell Barn Theatre

Sewell Barn Theatre
Ranked #69 of 141 things to do in Norwich
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

Watched "The Go Between" on January 16th. It was our first visit to the theatre as we live 130 miles from Norwich. What a fantastic little gem, the front of house staff were very helpful and the play itself was a professional performance from amateur players. I will not single anyone out for special praise but will just say that the evening was exceptional - and I am usually very critical of "amateur theatre".
Thank you to all concerned with the performance

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a lovely theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2015

This is a lovely theatre where the audience enters at floor level and you then walk up steps to get to your seat. Quirky and helps to give the whole place atmosphere.

Visited May 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot diggity dog! You HAVE to visit if you love theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2014

Its been a long time since I visited the Sewell Barn Theatre in Norwich. Thirty years. Where I live now that's thirty years in the desert as far as decent theatre is concerned. Returning, I found the Sewell Barn was still a jewel in the crown. Intimate, exciting, fabulous. I saw Unscorched which was a beautifully written play with delicate handling of a difficult subject. Wonderfully acted, staged and most thought provoking. Forget legal (or illegal) chemical highs, for £11 you can get a brain rush that will continue to stimulate for weeks.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Fineartbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2014

I saw every production last season and what a breadth of choice - each and every one was well cast and both staging and lighting quite fantastic. I find it truly inspirational how much the company can achieve in such an intimate theatre and their use of the space is very imaginative - at times one feels part of the performance as actors at times literally sit or stand beside you during the production . I was lucky enough to see Much Ado last week and again the set was amazing. This season I have joined and as now a member received a free drink which was a lovely surprise - free wine is always enjoyable! Apparently I will get a free drink each show - that's my membership cost covered plus some! Really looking forward to their next production Unscorched which is an amateur world premier - unbelievable that we have ambitious amateur directors willing to take on such a challenge on our doorstep. Well done to all at the Sewell Barn - I only see the actors on stage but appreciate that so much goes on behind the scenes - together you do a great job - keep up the great work.

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A valuable resource, a unique theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2014

As audience and performer of some forty years' experience - and latterly director - I can confidently state that the Sewell Barn remains my favourite venue since moving to the Norfolk area in 2005. The unique intimate experience of the close audience proximity, and the flexibility of the space with its balcony around the whole auditorium, brings a thrilling involvement in the action. The brave and unusual play choices are stimulating, exciting and refreshing, mixed with old favourites - all performed to an exceptionally high standard. There is plenty of parking, a friendly bar and ticket prices are reasonable. Totally recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sewell Barn Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Sewell Barn Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing