We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have recently returned from a 4 night B&B stay with family, excellent value at £232 in total for our own room accommodating 2 adults & a 17 yr. old., and as a bonus parking was also free with plenty of spaces for all. Check in was a little slow as there was only 1 receptionist and a coach party preceeded us, however once attended to we were swiflty given our room and checked in efficiently & politely as well as being recognised as Platinum members. The other members of our family who arrived later were also given a room close to us which suited us all. Our comfy family room on the first floor was clean, tidy, roomy and generally quiet most nights, with all the usual towels, extra pillows, toiletries etc. and daily maid service. Breakfast had a great choice of the usual hot fare and continental to suit all palates, and the restaurant staff were efficient, polite & helpful, and as there was 6 in our party each morning staff managed to accommodate us all one one table. We used the decent sized pool, jacuzzi and sauna on 3 ocassions and the changing rooms were kept clean and tidy. Unfortunately the steam room was out of order for the duration of our stay. We didn't used the gym but it looked modern and well equipped. There were 2 pubs we ate in nearby - The Marsh Harrier 5 mins walk away and the Maid Marion about a mile away - both had good food, reasonably priced, especially the latter which was under new management and had 3 course for £9.95, excellent for both taste and value but beware, portions very generous! The Maid Marion also has Sky Sports for those essential football matches etc, There is also a Tesco close by which has a petrol station as well as cafe for those on a room only basis if you want a cheap breakfast. Overall a great stay and a good base to tour Norwich, Norfolk & Soffolk, greatly enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: email in advance for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops-manager-9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Norwich on Tripadvisor, and for your positive comments regarding the hotel and the team.

I am very pleased that you chose to visit our hotel, and delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and to learn that we met your expectations is truely encouraging for the entire team.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Norwich in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    268
    157
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
207
29
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Second time stay at this hotel with a few years in between stays. Still very pleasant, greeted by a pleasant and helpful receptionist. Room was very clean and tidy, comfortable bed, air conditioning, all mod cons available, ie kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits, tv, safe, etc. My room even had his and hers bathrobes, very plush indeed. [my one and only complaint with the room was that all the room lights, bedside, standard lamp, reading lamp, main lights all worked off one switch, they were either all on or all off, nothing worked independently], very strange.The hotel has a nice gym and swimming pool area that guests can use free of charge. Restaurant was very pleasant and food was ok, breakfast good choice as well. You may want to book a evening meal time as this hotel caters for bus trips of all dears [bless them] and it can get a bit busy if you hit it the same time as 50 pensioners on a jolly [bless them again]. Mind you they have a bit of fun. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Having arrived the hotel looks like a 1980's secondary school, yet the staff were very friendly. Got to my room to find there wasnt even a ironing board so had to call for one ( checked to make sure it wasnt a HI express). Phone coverage in the area is shocking so had to use the wired internet £15 for high speed..High speed means 0.5MB so dont fall for it. The usual reply from the desk is that the speed slows down when more people connect so the more money the hotel makes the slower my service gets, pathetic. Its 2011 for gods sake. Waste of time and no refunds. DONT USE THE INTERNET UNLESS YOU HAVE TOO. Oh and you can use wifi in the lounge area however you need to pay more money even if you have the room account for 24 hours...RIP OFF AGAIN...

Once you get over this you can wake up and have a brekfast for around £13. Another total waste of money unless you enjoy cold, dry, lifeless food. Again nothing more than 'I am sorry you feel this way' I know for a fact that most of the staff would never pay and eat the crap so why do they expect the customers too.

This hotel really lets the brand down on many levels. I am a palinum member so can make that judgement. my last two HI experiences have been shocking for different reasons. Maybe its time to try another brand that values its business customers more

Sadly for this reason I will look to stay in another location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Yes, the outside of this certain Holiday Inn does look tired but in no way does this reflect the inner workings. All staff encountered were very friendly, the receptionist staff were chatty, which really gives good first impressions. Restaurant staff were also very friendly and the menu had a good mix, traditional English meals and also the choice for pizza and pasta. The room we stayed in was newly refurbished and was nice and comfortable.

A car for this HI is a must as it's just on the outskirts of Norwich, though it's only a short trip in and there is a good choice of parking.

Norwich is a great city, and Ipswich Road Holiday Inn really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops-manager-9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich. Guest feedback is very important to us, it allows us to constantly monitor and improve the service we provide, and is a key tool in helping us to create Great Hotels Guests Love.

I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us at the Holiday Inn Norwich, and to hear that we have met your expectations is truly encouraging for the team.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comments, and the team and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

You know pretty much know what to expect if you regulally stay at the HI. This one is better than most I have stayed at recently. I had a refurbished room, spotlessly clean. OK, it still had the standard HI telly, out of the ark with limited channels, but everything else ok.
Room service food was fine, but the recently revised menu is still uninspiring. They must be able to improve the choice with some really fresh sounding food, chilli and pizza is hardly pushing the boat out at these prices.
The breakfast was great and staff universally friendly and helpfu. All in all a resonable bet

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyinthepieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I have stayed in this hotel since May of last year due to work commitments, although I have stayed in better hotels one of the main reasons why I kept staying here were the staff, they are fantastic, friendly, professional and always have a smile on their faces. There are too many names to mention but the one's that come to mind are Stacy, Charlotte and Preshana.

I really hope the manager of this place, whom I have never met in all the time I have stayed there values the efforts they make in the work place. I hope when the staff appraisals are completed that these reviews are taken in to account, I will also be writing a letter to the manager reminding him what great team he has on his hands.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brook38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Bog standard Holiday Inn witha standard Holiday Inn menu which from the restaurant is pretty poor value for money. Beware of the service charge they sneak onto your bill in the restaurant. I had this charge removed as it is discretionary. Had they not put it on in the first place the staff might have got a tip for average service but as it was they got nothing because it is a cheek to add this charge without your prior knowledge. The menu from the bar is limited but is better value for money (and no service charge).

The room and decor is all a bit tired and needed updating.

Breakfast was very good. If only the rest of the hotel were up to the standard of the breakfast.

I would try the Holiday Inn at Carrow Road or the Marriott at Sprowston Manor (I've reviewed both of these before) before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing