We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Newark, UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Norwich city has a laid back feel and friendly people and this hotel reflects this. My wife and I Stayed 3 nights. All the staff were very friendly from the reception to the restaurant. For any question we asked (e.g. bus times, locations, where to eat, etc) the receptionist was able to give us pre printed information. We pre booked breakfast which was of good standard. The restaurant staff took an interst in all their customers.The hotel is about 1.5 miles south of Norwich although there are bus stops nearby we decided take a pleasant walk into Norwich (about half an hour). On one day we drove to the nearby park and ride and took the bus into norwich.The hotel has a very good swimming pool (larger than usual size for a hotel) and gym. I'd certainly recommend a visit to Norwich and would stay at this hotel again..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBrianS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to see that you and your wife enjoyed your visit to Holiday Inn Norwich. Your feedback on all of my team is great to see and I will definitely ensure that they are all aware and get credited. Here at Holiday Inn Norwich, every single member of the team is dedicated to providing a top quality and consistent service and every member of staff is a credit to myself and the hotel.

I do agree with you that Norwich is a lovely city, and to know you'd stay here at our hotel again makes us feel extremely proud. We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    268
    155
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
204
29
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Went for a wedding reception & stayed over. Hotels better located in Norwich, room was decently priced, but it wasn't that great. Food & drinks are vastly overpriced, and are of dubious quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed there for two nights as we attended a wedding. The rooms are fairly small but very functional including a trouser press and ironing board as well as a small table and armchair. They offer a 24 hour room service which we tried and the food was very nice. Breakfast in the morning is also nice and there is quite a variety of things. Guests can use the pool and the gym free of charge which is really nice. The only negative point was that the floor of the breakfast hall was not very clean and could really have done with a hover...The staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford,Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May 2012, while attending a wedding at Dunston Hall. Hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms had aircon which was nice as it was very hot at the time of the visit. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A pint of Stella was £4 in the bar, where you can watch skysports. You have to pay for wifi access but the 3G on my phone was OK. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was nice and hot. I would use again without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Its the attention to detail that makes the difference here and from the sweet counter for the kids on our arrival to the complimentary drinks at dinner the staff really could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable.

It is a shame that our family room was so impossibly small that for one person to get ready the other three had to sit on the bed to give them enough space. Especially as our friends who had also booked a family room had a vast corner suite that was more that adequate for their needs (I would always try to request this room if you are booking a family room).

For one night though it was more than adequate and the superb facilities and excellent service more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms if you are booking a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitehorse170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night and had a family room with two children on a sofa bed. The room may be a little small if you are there for a long stay, but for a short stay it is absolutely fine. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The reception staff are absolutely fantastic - Chloe was a 'life-saver' when we struggled to get a room initially as it was a very busy weekend. The genuine desire to help guests, make them feel welcome, the level of professionalism and hospitality is outstanding. The staff here are better trained and welcome you so much better than many top hotels. Andrew i believe was the hotel manager....extremely proactive, attentive and hands on. Exceptional attention to detail and great initiative. I liked the complimentary drinks on arrival and sweetie selections for the children - went down well all round. They followed up quickly with all queries and requests and did their utmost to deliver on all. The restaurant was very busy but they still made a great effort to accommodate our 'off menu' request and keep us updated whilst they managed the many orders. This was the only area of 'weakness' - quality of food/cooking could be improved but with the service we received we felt it far outweighed this and didnt feel it a great issue.
This hotel, for the value, cannot be faulted and i will be staying there again and hope that we'll receive the same great service and attention as before! Thank you to the team and hotel management!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed overnight in a twin room , shared with a friend. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet , which considering the location on a busy road into Norwich was a nice surprise. We had breakfast at the hotel which was fine, good choice of fruits, pastries, breads and hot food. The coffee was not good but both tea and coffee came in unlimited quantities and the service was attentive. The leisure facilities were great - a generous sized pool and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna meant a lot to my companion and I as we had risen at dawn for a concert performance and came back to the hotel to relax afterwards.
All in all a pleasant place for an overnight stay - didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. The bar price of £7 for a glass of red wine seemed a little excessive.
The twin room was £59 for the night without breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,139 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing