We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can they really get away with trying to charge so much?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Can they really get away with trying to charge so much?”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Visited this hotel for a night prior to attending a course I had there the next day, the price for a night? well they wanted £165, luckily with finding 1/3 off vouchers, that some how came down to £48. Not in the best location, a few miles from Norwich centre, neighbouring industrial/retail and a housing estate, The building looks to be a prime piece of 70's architecture, the entrance faces the car park, which had many spaces taken up with what seemed to be new cars for the neighbouring vauxhall dealership, luckily the car park emptied some what at the end of the working day, otherwise space would have been limited. Reception wasn't particularly welcoming, but despite not giving me as much info as the preceding guests, the lady was very welcoming.
The room was tired, and actually below ground level, so that meant no signal on my phones, so i had to go outside for calls, not great when the company charges so much for Wi-fi. The room was clean, and featured a large flat screen TV and massive bed, but the bathroom was tired, awful grouting on the tiles looking a mess, mould showing underneath and at the edges and wonky tiles and badly painted ceilings. I know redecoration in these places must be done quickly, but some one should check on the quality of work. One of the sockets in the room was broken, leaving a hole in the face, which i left well alone and reported when I left.
The hotel seemed popular for weddings(why i don't know), with a huge hen party crowd in the evening(i was warned when to avoid the restaurant) and a wedding taking place the next day. I knew the pool would be closed, but that didn't account for the building noise disrupting the course on the saturday, which meant the 10 of us attending were found a tiny replacement room to move to(very unsatisfactory, but at least the firm running the course were refunded rental costs).

Not a great experience, and I wouldn't recommend, esp if not getting a reduced rate, they got my business as i was attending an event there, but due to bad planning of the hotel, that was disrupted. The place needs to be more welcoming, wi-fi costs reduced to compensate for lack of phone signal underground and someone from holiday Inn to pay more attention to quality of building work.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room to make up for phone signal issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear marktheevildude,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with your accommodations during your stay. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    264
    154
    41
    30
See reviews for
138
201
29
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

As you would expect from a Holiday Inn - polite and helpful staff, nice room, comfortable bed, a good breakfast etc....
However, Wifi far too expensive and not happy that only heat detectors in the bedrooms as they should be smoke detectors and have a better chance of saving your life! because of this i won't be staying again.

Room Tip: get a room with a smoke detector, it might save your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for feeding back on your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad that you found the team polite, helpful and that your room was nice and comfortable. I would like to respond to your comment around our fire detection system with the following to put yourself and other guests reading this at ease.

Regulations for hotels in the UK allow the use of heat detection where it is currently installed in guest rooms. However, Holiday Inn has an ongoing programme to replace heat detection in guest rooms and we install smoke detection systems in all newly constructed hotels.

The detectors are only one part of our fire safety measures; we have many other controls in place for the safety of our guests, which include:

· Detailed fire risk assessments of the hotel to identify fire safety hazards and any additional controls needed to ensure the safety of guests, staff and visitors to the hotel

· Regular and frequent staff training in the emergency and evacuation plan, the use of fire safety equipment and fire prevention
· Regular and frequent evacuation drills
· Specific evacuation procedures for disabled guests
· Construction standards in place for fire resistance of the building, guestrooms and fire rated doors, including guestrooms
· Automatic fire detection and alarm systems in all our hotels equipped with automatic emergency power and call points at, or close to, the front desk, at each stair and ground floor exit, all connected to the fire alarm control panel.
· All materials used in all public areas and guestrooms are flame retardant or treated to meet or exceed requirements for a “flame-resistant” rating
· Each floor in the hotel has a minimum of two emergency exits remote from each other
· Emergency escape lighting provided on all exit routes, in stairwells and public areas

I hope this puts your mind at ease. The safety of our guests is our highest priority and we take all steps to prevent, or minimise the risk of fire in our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed in IHG Hotels since 1973 in Africa, in the Americas, Asia and in Europe.
IHG have set the bench marks for quality of service, food, cleanliness and acceptable comfort. One pays for these standards. On business I have used five and four star hotels, whilst on private family occasions; I usually stayed in four and three star hotels. One expects good quality and value for money from any IHG Hotel.
CLEAR PACKAGE OFFERS
I like clear hotel package offers so that when I make a booking I am aware of the likely cost of the stay so that there are no unpleasant surprise extras.
People are going through a difficult economic period in Europe and the USA right now and many people are being forced to tighten their belts and to try to get the best value deals from hotels.
Incomes in many cases are not keeping up with inflation. People want to get away any enjoy good hotels as long as they feel they are getting a good deal. They don’t want to be surprised by unexpected extra charges after they have arrived
SERVICE AT RECEPTION ON ARRIVAL AND CHECKOUT
I would prefer to be welcomed to the Hotel and reminded of the package that I was booked on.
At Holiday Inn Norwich, my special deal was (241) two nights for the price without breakfast.
I would like to be reminded of the option of the cost of a cooked breakfast on the day and if I prepaid for breakfast on arrival. Also any other deals the hotel had to offer.

ROOM QUALITY
Our room was clean, but the plunger plug in the wash basin did not work. To have a wet shave, I had to run the top water continuously. I reported this fault, but it had not been fixed by the time we had checked out.

GOOD POINT
This hotel offered fish for breakfast, which was a big plus

BAD POINT
It did not appear to have a lift (evevator)

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the road so is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Holiday Inn, Ipswich Road, Norwich. The Spirit Health Club was well equiped, although the swimming pool was a bit on the small side. The room had everything for a comfortable stay and the reception staff were extremely helpful supplying us with as much tea, coffe, milk and sugar as we wanted for use in our room. It was a very pleasant couple of days and nights away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked a room for 3 people - a double bed and a sofa bed was the deal - but why is it that at medium-priced hotels like this the staff don't seem to have the forsight to think about how many people are staying in the room? Why were no extra towels provided for the third guest? Why were no extra cups provided?! We were made to feel very lucky to receive an extra Twix when booking in...but the moment turned awkward when our third guest wasn't allowed.....bizarre! We reported some broken tiles in the shower - they looked so loose they looked like they could fall off and into the bath at any moment, and were told that there are no maintenance staff working at the weekend but that our "comments have been noted". It was a minor inconvenience but really? Do you really have no maintenance staff working at the weekend - what a pickle this hotel would be in if something more technical occurred! A simple apology would have sufficed instead of a bullish attitude from the receptionist! The room itself was large enough, but out of proportion to the small bathroom which incidentally had no air-con or means of de-steaming the room when it became too hot. Usual paid-for TV services and bedding etc - quite a comfortable bed. Only stayed for 1 night so didn't have chance to try the bar or food service. About a 10-minute drive into Norwich city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at this lovely Hotel last week and we were delighted with every aspect
Our rooms were lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful,the food was very good.
The quiet location is really nice and peaceful, no noise at night from traffic.
In fact we could not fault this Hotel in anyway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eckersleybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Norwich.
To hear that you had such an enjoyable stay really does emphasis to both me and my staff how important it is to treat every guest with the highest quality of service. I am thrilled to hear you could not fault our hotel and I really hope we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Norwich again!

Once again thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, we appreciate it greatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
181 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a nice comfortable hotel for business travel. its really a smart motel but has the comfortable rooms and good service of a Holiday Inn. I thought it was slightly overpriced but it must be an expensive area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing