We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, good breakfast, well positioned for major road network”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK hotel, good breakfast, well positioned for major road network”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Norwich for one Saturday night while visiting friends. This is a bog standard hotel situated just a few mins from the main trunk road network and routes into the city of Norwich with supermarket and other stores near bye. Hotel does not look much from the outside but do not be put off. Our room was a standard double which was fine but the bathroom was very small – see pics – with little room to move between sink and bath. Room was clean and tidy on arrival at early check-in around 12pm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Please note, that car park is not huge and gets very busy at night – there is overspill available if you drive past the hotel reception entrance and round to the left. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and of a good standard although they did run out of little pain au raisin fairly quickly and supply was not replenished. If staying in the Norwich area again I would use the hotel. Was good value for the £60 B&B rate I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    268
    158
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
207
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This Holiday Inn first of all, offer plenty of parking space. It's easy to reach in a quiet part of Norwich and the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel and it's room look a bit outdated and could use an overhaul. Prices are decent.

For a business traveller, it is an reasonable hotel, but it appears to attract of lot of coaches as well.


The main flaw of the hotel is that many rooms are rather a long walk from reception and there are not elevators to certain parts of the building. As a result, which is particularly a pain when travelling with a lot of gear, you really get a great workout by carrying all your luggage from the car to the room and vice versa.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Robin J.

Thank you very much for commenting and feeding back about your stay at Holiday Inn.

Firstly let me begin by thanking you for your comments on the staff's service. We take a great pride in the service that is provided to our guests by all members of staff.

Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a lift due to the hotel being built primarily without one. To combat this we do have slopes leading both to the upper and lower corridors on the outside of the hotel. We do also have luggage trolleys available in the reception for use but please do not hesitate to contact either the front desk team or any member of staff who will be more than willing to help you with your luggage.

Lastly, with regards to your views on the hotel looking outdated, nearly all of our bedrooms have been refurbished and we are currently in the process of discussing a refurbishment within the bedrooms and bathrooms. We have also recently updated our lounge/lobby area and have had new carpet fitted in the reception and restaurant.

I do hope you will decide to stay again at Holiday Inn Norwich, and once again thank you for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

me and my other half stayed at this hotel on the ipswich road 28-30 sept 12 and found it an ideal base to visit norwich.we arrived on the friday for a saturday wedding 2 hours early but as the room was ready we could check in(nice touch)the room was clean and fairly big with a settee in it the bed was very comfortable also had tv iron ironing board and complimentary smellies.we had breakfast there twice (buffet style)and you could eat as much as you liked and the staff were always available for any tea or coffee and as much as you wanted we did'nt eat in the resteraunt but seen the prices(very expensive)we ate in norwich which was a £7 taxi fare.there is also a pool and sauna but we did-not use them just a few points the staff are many and very helpful the room was cleaned with fresh sheets and towels each day the thing that let it down(not the bar staff or resteraunt staff who were exellent and very good at their jobs) were the prices of the drinks and food this took a bit of a shine of what was a really good two days.we would stay again but not drink in the bar there is a tescos less than half a mile away and a pub serving food 300 yards away(as you pass the vauhall dealership on the left before tescos)

Room Tip: corner rooms seem to be bigger country pub 300 yards away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel does a very good job at providing a comfortable well fitted room alongside some very reliable and pleasant service. We couldn't check in early but the charming receptionist was happy to store our bags for us as we went about our errands in Norwich. When we got into our room the sofa had not been made up into a bed but a quick call to housekeeping resulted in a lovely helpful girl arriving to carry out the job. She apologized for never having done this before and with a little help from me we accomplished the task. She was most apologetic for putting me through such an ordeal! The room was the usual Holiday Inn style, clean and reasonably spacious. The great thing about this hotel is that it has a lot of free parking on site. Just down the road is a Tesco and a popular pub, the Marsh Harrier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked an overnigh stop in Norwich, for my husbands 65 birthday. I chose this hotel following other reviews on tripadvisor.
We arrived around 3pm and our room was ready - we had also been upgraded to executive suite, nice touch, the room was clean and very tidy, bathroom was very clean, and can thourghly
recommend the shower it was great.
We had a meal in the restaurant and the service was excellent - they had two buses of travellers, a wedding as well as others eating meals, we could not fault the service. Our waitress Puja was excellent, making sure we had everything we wanted, and the restaurant manager was attentive also, giving us complementary sparking wine (could have been champagne but I cannot tell the difference!).

The best touch was the birthday card under our door ! My husband was tickled pink by this touch.

Breakfast the next day was excellent, the choice was amazing - there was about 5 specials, including porriage, omelettes and fish dishes, as well as normal full english, and continental breakfasts, good choice of cereals.

We will be back next year, this time will try out the gym and pool areas, went to the gym to look and although small in comparision to some gyms they had all the equipment and was clean and looked as if well looked after,

Room Tip: Ask for room 129, it is ground floor, cannot fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a nice clean and fresh hotel, the decoration to a very high standard. My room was a typical hotel room and I must say it was spotless. The food was above average and reasonably priced. The breakfast was buffet style and there was lots of it. I ate from the daily specials menu, the starter served up on a slate was excellent, I had the chicken pie as my main course, must have been home made as the portion was massive with great lumps of chicken in it, there was so much I could not eat it all and I felt guilty leaving some. The biggest asset this hotel has is the staff, they could not be more friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stay at Holiday Inn, Ipswich Road, Norwich on a fairly regular basis when visiting family and indeed have two more stays booked for next month. I have been meaning to write a review for some time, not something I would usually do but, we love it there and wanted to share our views and pass on our thanks to all the staff.

The location of this hotel is fabulous, only a few minutes away from the center of Norwich and if you don't want the hassle of taking your car and parking, the park and ride is literally a minutes drive away. Ideally located for access to all areas around Norwich and down to Yarmouth if you fancy a trip out. University just a short drive away also. Bus goes right past the hotel into town so, from all angles it could not be better. Nice quiet location too even though on a busy road, you really cant hear the traffic, with spacious car part, complimentary tea, coffee in reception on arrival and staff who, from our experiences to date can not do enough to help. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and when I had to change a booking recently, it was dealt with so swiftly, no questions asked, by the staff on reception at the hotel and over the phone (no horrid central reservations office to deal with)

We have stayed at many Holiday Inns and this is by far our favorite.

Choice of pillows is great, beds are soooooo comfy, hotel is not noisy even when we stayed whilst a wedding was taking place. Restaurant is large and breakfast is fantastic. Showers nice and powerful.

Holiday Inn offer some great deals and we always take advantage of those.

As a wheelchair user, the hotel is fully assessable and the staff in the Spa could not have been more helpful in trying to ensure we could enjoy the facilities in there too. (there are a few steps into the spa area but they would have been happy to allow us access via the ground floor emergency exit doors straight into the pool area - we actually managed without needing to do this in the end)

If your staying for a relaxing break, I really must recommend also having a beauty treatment of some sort. I am sorry i cant recall the lovely lady's name but she was so friendly, patient and unhurried when we had several treatments and with very reasonable prices to.

All in all our favorite Holiday Inn so far which is why we keep going back.

5stars all round, well done Holiday Inn Ipswich Road Norwich - keep up the great work.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essexgal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing