We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed for one night to attend the Christmas spectacular at Thursford, sadly after the show I was taken ill in the night. The lady on reception was an angel she came to my room to help , got in touch with a doctor. and rang to check on me the next morning. I was allowed a little extra time in me room to sort out my journey home . The meal on arrival was excellent . Room/ Hotel was clean. Towels , 1 hand 1 large bath. ALL the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear M L,

It is lovely to hear how much a guest has enjoyed their stay at our hotel so thank you for leaving your feedback
It is very unfortunate that you fell ill during your stay but I do hope you are feeling much better now. Our staff will always go out of their way to make sure you are feeling comfortable.

It would be nice to see you return next Christmas to Holiday Inn Norwich.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

Recently stayed here with a coach company for a Christmas spectacular trip. The hotel was clean enough, beds comfy and the meals provided tasty. As others have commented, wifi, drinks and meals are overly expensive. The worst part of the stay though was the hotels policy regarding housekeeping knocking on doors at 8am and if you do not answer your door within 15 seconds because you are otherwise occupied, housekeeping will just let themselves into your room anyway. This happened to several guests on our coach trip. One couple was still in bed when housekeeping let themselves in!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Carla C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you liked the cleanliness of our hotel and your room accommodations. I would like apologize for the issues you had with our housekeeping that affected your stay negatively. And I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates of our amenities. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn and arrived there on 03 Nov. With the Gold status membership, we could have checked in earlier than 2pm. We couldn't make it, but arrived at the hotel at 1.30pm. We were told that the rooms would be ready by 2pm. At 2pm, we were told to wait some 15 - 20 more minutes, as the rooms were still not ready. I couldn't understand that reason and asked myself whether they have only 1 person to clean the hotel.
The breakfast was as cheap as it could be - eggs were floating in oil and you rather not look at the sausages. I'd have been more satisfied with Weatherspoon's breakfast (no offense), where some of them offer really good value for money, than this so-called Holiday Inn - We were upgraded (a way to keep our mouth shut), but that isn't what we wanted. We missed an important appointment in town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JND1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I'm currently sitting near the restaurant. It should be open, as it is 6 pm. I'm watching a man, who is waiting at the front, waiting for a serving staff member to offer him a seat. But they aren't. They are still setting up, and ignoring him. Me, I'm not standing there, because I made the same mistake as that man yessrday, and this morning for breakfast. Both times I didn't get served until I actually hunted down a member of staff myself.

Also - they will want to clean your room at a ridiculously early hour.
They won't prepare a hot breakfast fresh - just Bain Marie that looks like it has been there for a long time. By the time I go to it -at 9am, croissants gone and no offer of more.
At the gym - which is quite nice- no one will offer to tell you about facilities, or even smile.
The wifi - most I have ever paid for Internet in my life. $32 Australia for 2 days. And then it isn't even really fast, and to all places in the hotel get good reception.
1 towel only in bathroom. Good thing I didn't take my partner or want to wash my hair.
No complimentary newspaper, except for a 20 cent one. What the heck is that?

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. Lot worse service than I had in a Wales BandB, where the owner offered to cook at 2 am, lent me a book and drove me to the station for free. Lot worse than the hotel I stayed in Dorchester, where breakfast was cooked individually, the chef happily changed something on the menu to suit my vegetarian tastes, and the receptionist talked to me about what historical attractions I could go see.

And they were both cheaper than here, too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myreview1235678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

As a regular Holiday Inn customer this hotel is typical of Holiday Inn hotels, albeit a bit dated. The hotel was fully booked for the duration of my stay which did result in full restaurants and car park. I eat at the hotel one evening and the food was ok. Didn't make use of the hotel swimming pool. Wifi was particularly expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed overnight as this was closest hotel to the wedding we were invited to , this was in the wilds of Norfolk. On arrival the reception staff offered water and chocolate as priority club members. Of the many visits to the holiday inn chain, this was the first time I have been offered chocolate and water. a lesson for other hotels to learn I think.
We dined in the restaurant and the food was nicely cooked and the steak to my cooking requirement. The waiter also checked that it was cooked to my liking (rare). The breakfast in the morning was also nicely presented, and a good selection of fresh fruit. My only regret was not enough time to enjoy the leisure facilities.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank millseybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your lovely comments about your stay at Holiday Inn when you visited Norwich. I am very glad you chose to book here and that we gave you an enjoyable stay to hopefully remember.
Our restaurant staff and kitchen team will always ensure your food is cooked to your very own liking as we treat each guest as an individual and understand that everyone has different tastes and needs.
All Holiday Inn's operate different on their check in but like you said, here we offer all of our priority club members just that little something extra to thank them for being loyal to our brand. I am very pleased to hear this had a positive effect on you.

We would very much like to welcome you back to our hotel in the future so that hopefully you can use our leisure facilities!
Once again, thank you for your time in leaving feedback for us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

WE stayed at this Hotel for 1 night ,it was coveintly located just outside Normich a few minutes by car. THe Hotel was average not the best but not the worst, rooms were clean and cared for. We had no complaints.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royandwendy503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that everything was OK for you during your stay at Holiday Inn Norwich.
Our Housekeeping team do take a great deal of care when servicing the bedrooms and always ensure they are serviced to the highest standard.

I would like to hope if you visited again we could show you that we are more than just an OK hotel.

Thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing