We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights (Friday/Saturday) in March.

Top positives...

1. The staff - in particular the restaurant and bar staff who were excellent in terms of customer service and ran the place to almost military precision. It might sound a bit gushing, but, really, it was a joy to watch.

2. The food - this was so much better than you might expect. On our first night we were too tired to think about leaving the hotel, and the restaurant had a Mexican buffet on offer. Great food at a great price. Breakfast was also top-notch - again, well cooked, with lots of choice.

The room was clean and decent enough. Pretty much what you'd hope for in a hotel like this, but sometimes do not find.

We used the swimming pool / sauna and jacuzzi - manned by a helpful guy at the desk. It isn't massive, and I'm sure it could possibly become a bit crowded at times as someone has reported, but we found it to be a pretty good facility.

Really not too much in terms of negatives (but, please manager Diane, if you do respond, please don't just brush over them and talk about the positives, which do in fact greatly outweigh these negatives)

1. The toilet took ages to fill. We heard another couple reporting this at the reception, so we know we're not alone in this. Sounds trivial, but if you're a couple in a room, it can be a real pain.

2. Charging so much for WiFi. You can go down to your local coffee shop or McDonalds and get it for free. If they can do it, why can't you? It feels like a rip-off - £16 a day - and we're already paying customers.

If these niggles were addressed, this would really make this a hotel punching well above its weight. We had a great stay and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaughOutLoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear LaughOutLoud2

I did chuckle to myself when I read your email name!!

Really great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that my team amused you!!
They are a great bunch who all work very hard.

With regards to the wi fi,that is company policy,There is complimentary wi fi in the bar/lounge area's available for all guests.

The issue with the toilet flush has now been addressed with my in house maintenance team .

We would love to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you want a Pokey upmarket Premier Inn, Travel Lodge or Express by Holiday Inn then the Holiday Inn Ipswich Road Norwich is the place for you.

It was possible to touch opposite walls in the bathroom by stretching my arms out. Great for one night but if like me you are staying for three nights or more I am sure there are more spacious rooms in Norwich at the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Objective_criticiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Objective-criticiser

Many thanks for your review

A slight exaggeration about the bathroom size.

Although great to see that you had an overall good stay!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stay in holiday inns regularly with work and was pleasantly surprised with this one. The food is a lot better than the usual microwaved rubbish and the staff actually seemed to enjoy their work rather than being forced to be there. The rooms are standard but that's fine for the market they are aiming for. Definitely a cut above the rest!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Mitch2828

Delighted to read you had such a great stay and that my team looked after you.
I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is about a 15 minute drive out of Norwich centre so best if you have your own transport although we gather that there is a decent bus service which runs past the hotel, The welcome in reception was very friendly and we were very pleased to be told that as IHG members we could have 1 hour of free Wi-Fi in our room. The room was quiet, clean and nicely furnished with good quality bedding and we both slept well. There was everything we needed for an overnight stay. We stayed on a Saturday night and the bar area and restaurant were fairly quiet but the staff were very friendly and welcoming..
For the price we paid this hotel was excellent value for money and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.
If you prefer not to eat in your hotel then eat somewhere before you leave Norwich as there is nothing near the hotel. If you want to stay late in Norwich then use the Castle Hill Mall Car Park 1 as it stays open until 30 minuutes after the last film at the cinema in the mall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandWendy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear MikeandWendy01

Many thanks for your review
I am delighted you both had such a great stay and that my team looked after you.

Hope we will see you again soon

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

It is a fair way out of the centre, so best to have transport. It was very comfortable & has good facilities. There is a nice indoor swimming pool & gym. The price for using WiFi in the bedrooms is very expensive but we were told that it was free in the reception area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Flo413,

Many thanks for your review
I am delighted you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed using the leisure facilities.

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed on 15/03 at the Holiday Inn Norwich with my wife and two small children plus some friends. We the were very impressed with the hotel especially the service we received from all staff who were professional friendly and polite at all times. The lounge//bar area was relaxing and the carvery meal we ate was delicious as was the breakfast the next morning. Another great thing travelling with kids was the free meals which we took advantage of and was allowed to have this by the bar whilst the adults relaxed with a drink. The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable and my request for the travel cot was met as do often find some hotel forget this. The swimming pool was also an added advantage and helped us keep the kids entertained. My wife was a little dubious at first about staying at a holiday inn (we are certainly not hotel snobs in any way) but she was pleasantly surprised and the whole stay was faultless. I rarely write any reviews but felt I must write something as we were so pleased, I would recommend to anyone and certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear EssexSkipper,

Absolutely delighted you all had a great stay.

Chef is very happy that you enjoyed the carvery,it is very popular with all of our guests.

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will all come and stay again!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for two days whilst visiting Norwich , hotel is well situated 10 minutes from the town centre , room ( 322 ) was compact but very clean with the nice addition of wooden sliding blinds which cut out all light and reduce noise , also a 32" T.V. Breakfast had all you could wish for including American style pancakes ! it was made even more relaxing by our friendly waitress Yahaira , thank you .
We used the health club a few times , this included a pool , jacuzzi , steam room , sauna , and fitness equipment . We found everything clean and relaxing .
All staff were friendly and attentive and gave the impression of enjoying their duties , The bar is typical chain hotel type i.e. boring and expensive , however if you exit the hotel behind the main building ( there are two entrances/exits ) turn left , go past a car dealership you will find the Marsh Harrier a Vintage Inns pub with real ales and decent food .
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and will visit again , it seemed to us that most guests were business related but that in no way effected our stay , I have only one negative comment and that is that the Holiday Inn still charge for WIFI !!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear robertKent,

Delighted you had such a wonderful stay and made full use of the leisure facilities.


Hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay with us again!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £54 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing