We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A VERY PLEASANT STAY IN AN EXTREMELY NICE AND QUIET ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A VERY PLEASANT STAY IN AN EXTREMELY NICE AND QUIET ROOM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I were booked in here for one night when we were in Norwich for a Comedy Golf Classic. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised as I had seen some very bad reviews and was not looking forward to being there. Apparently. there had been a lot of problems with air conditioning breaking down and, as I am prone to fainting, I was hoping that it had been fixed. I needn't have worried. All was well and, in fact, I had to get them to turn it off late that night as it was too cold! It came on again that morning which was fine as it was very warm. The staff were very helpful. The room was lovely and there was no noise at all from outside. I think we were more fortunate than other people who were given rooms where they did suffer some noise from outside. The breakfast was very nice comprising fresh fruit, juice, muesli, another cereal, scrambled egg, sausage and beans and toast and croissants. There was coffee and a selection of tea which was nice for me as I like Earl Grey. In all, an enjoyable experience and much better than I had anticipated.

Room Tip: lst floor room 104 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiecapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jacquiecapri

Delighted to read you had a lovely stay,and really enjoyed your breakfast!
But if I may just clarify a few points that you have raised.

With regard to the 'terrible reviews' we do have 264 excellent/very good reviews and just 13 terrible.

The a/c is always working,sometimes guests are unsure how to operate,thus when reviewing say it was not working.

My team strive to provide the best guest service possible and all feedback positive & negative is always welcomed,so we can continually improve our services and products.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    262
    150
    41
    30
See reviews for
137
196
29
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've been staying at the Holiday Inn on Ipswich Road in Norwich for several weeks as I've been working away. It's a pleasant hotel in a nice setting, but what really makes it is the staff who go out of their way to be polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have limited mobile phone coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chullyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Chully

Delighted you have enjoyed staying with us.
My team are great and always try their very best to look after our guests.
I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments.

Hope we will see you again soon!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We often travel on business to Norfolk and, I have to say, this hotel is one of the best in the area. Good customer service, comfortable rooms, pleasant leisure facilities and close to both the city and the Norwich by-pass. I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Not so keen (only a minor point) on the picture of the dirty, snotty, food spattered child on the room keycard cover - quite unpleasant actually - and I had to keep turning it over so as not to look at it. Please change your picture, Holiday Inn!

Nonetheless, a very good hotel and - usually - obtainable at a competitive and reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnH_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear John_W

Delighted you had a great stay!

All feedback positive & negative is always welcomed.
I will be sure to pass on your comments re the key card holder.

Hope to see you again when next in Norwich!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a long Bank Holiday weekend here. Good location on the outskirts of the city. Although the exterior is dated, the hotel enjoys some pretty extensive and well maintained grounds with ample parking.


The interiors are well maintained and on-brand. Although I'm a Platinum card holder, it looks as if I wasn't given a room upgrade, but my room was fine.

Service was personable and courteous and it's great to see staff showing and sharing their sense of humour with guests.

There was a tendency for food to run out from the breakfast buffet, so more care needs to be taken when monitoring the situation. And tea and coffee orders were slow in coming.

But aside from the above, I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear BritTraveller68,

Great to read that you all had a comfortable stay.
I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and these will be passed to my Head Chef.

I do hope that when next in Norwich you will come and stay again!

Best Regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed a night at Ipswich Road Holiday Inn as we were at a wedding locally. We were both really impressed by the hotel having not expected very much.

The room was ample size, clean and comfy as was the rest of the hotel. The restaurant looked really nice, although we didn't actually eat there. The bar was great and the staff were really friendly all round.

We thought there should have been free wifi as most hotels offer these days and the £5/hour is too expensive as far as I'm concerned, but all-in-all it was a great stay.

Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shepherdess2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Shepherdess2012

Delighted you had a lovely stay,great to read that you found my team friendly and helpful.

With regard to the wifi- we do provide it complimentary in the lounge/bar/restaurant area's.


If you ever in the fine city of Norwich again I do hope you will stay with us in Holiday Inn Ipswich Road.

Best Regards
Diane McTague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wife was taken into hospital recently and had to move out towards Norwich hospital to be near her. I would like to express my thanks to all the staff that I meet including the front desk staff and the resturant staff. The food was excellent and hot. There is only one small thing that could be improved and it is wifi. The cost of wifi is quite expensive could there be a scheme that if you spend so much on food and drink per night you mwould qualify for free internet or limited mega bites. Once again thankyou to all your staff at a time when my wife was in hospital.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevebirdSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear stevebirdsommerset,

Many thanks for your fantastic review!
I am thrilled you had such a great stay and have been so complimentary about the facilities and the restaurant food.

With regard to the wifi,we do offer complimentary wifi in all the public areas and all IHG members receive complimentary wifi in their rooms aswell.(Base,gold and platinum members)

I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon!

Best regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who advised us that we had the use of pool and gym (unfortunately I didn't see these details on the description so didn't know it was available). The room and bathroom were immaculate. The only problem we had was that the "double bed" was two single beds connected, but other than this our stay wad perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Aisking K

Many thanks for your fabulous review,
I am delighted you had an excellent stay
I have noted your comment re the zip & link bed and my Housekeeping Manager will address this.

I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon!

Best regards
Diane McTague
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing