We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Due to business committments I have to stay in hotels 5 days per week.I can honestly say this hotel is one of the best when in comes to staff .I always have room service as part of my down time and it is always delivered with genuine courtesy,even when I know the hotel is very busy.Recently I hurt my knee and was approached by Louise who asked me if I needed anything and proceeded to bring me ice to bring the swelling down.The following day again asked how I was and showed again a genuine want to help hows that for service!! Its fantastic to know they care.Breakfast is fast and efficient reading other comments about small trays this is because the food is always fresh something I always look for,as for the staff at breakfast brilliant a lady called Flora always greets me with a big smile and if she is dealing with something or someone always acknowledges me.The hotel is currently undergoing a refresh as it does need updating,however I would always prefer good service and value that the hotel really does care about its customers from the moment you walk in .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops-manager-9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Thank you for your kind feed back concerning the hotel. It is truly a delight for me to read how good the team are in providing great service. Thank you for taking the time to feed back.


Kind Regards
Martin Spooner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    268
    158
    41
    30
See reviews for
141
209
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a night hoping good night rest, but been never disappointed as much due to reflection of the hotel. Service throughout was fantastic and praise how such understaffed could do their jobs. Had been for dinner which was not bad and breakfast tasted better except cheap orange juice taste. Hotel seemed very old and would blame to management for such poor management!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Some hotels you drive up to and they look imposing or attractive. This is a 1960s monstrosity which closely resembles Cell Block H, and the bedroom tv is probably not much newer.
I detest greedy hotels which charge extortionate rates for wi-fi, and this is a prime example, charging a massive £15 for a nights use. This alone is a reason for me not to return, but if you add to it:
Pillows which are as hard as they come,
Cheap thin duvets on the bed,
Breakfast service involving tiny hot "platters" which last a minute and a half before they are empty and disinterested waitresses who ignore the need to replenish or tidy up the used tables,
Catering standard bacon and stewed fried eggs,
then you get a flavour of how this place runs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops-manager-9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at the hotel. We have this week completed our re branding programme that has seen many changes within the hotel. 119 new bed and mattress have been installed and all identified thin duvets have been changed (A total of 23). 476 new pillows have been delivered and installed, two firm two soft in each room. This along with our pillow menu continues to be a feature of staying with us that gives you the customer the choice of the perfect pillow for your stay. I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you. Now our new pillows have a wrap around them with this menu on it so you can easily choose a different pillow if you wish. Our internet contract with our third party suppliers is currently being renegotiated and your feedback is welcomed at this table. Our installation of new flat screen TV’s, all with the free view digital channels is due to be implemented this year. I’m sorry that the breakfast experience was not to your or my level of service standard and you can rest assured I will address this issue with the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to feed back regarding the hotel and please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steady_10
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed for one night before our boating trip to Norfolf Broads. Classic Holiday Inn. Good Service, Good Size family room with all the usual HI trimmings. Younger kids eat free, and to evening meal was excellent and great value.

Would definately stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel with friends for a couple of nights. The hotel was a typical Holiday Inn - quite comfortable and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. The pool area was very good with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi.

The only fault we found was the exorbitant prices in the restaurant. We had to stay in for the first night as we were waiting for another couple - £13 each for fish and chips!!!! And not that spectacular. It wasn't a question of choosing something cheaper - there was nothing cheaper! Equally the prices in the bar are steep - a pint of bitter, a pint and a half of lager and a wine came to over £16. If you do want an evening meal there is a pub about a 5-10 minute walk away called The Marsh Harrier. We went there on the second night and the food is brilliant and half the price.

Having said that about the restaurant in the evening, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Stayed just one night but was so very impressed with the staff and the hotel in general. It was conveniently located. Service was excellent. I left my scarf in the restaurant and called them when I got home to ask if it had been found. Immediately the member of staff located my scarf and posted it back to me to my home address with a couple of days. I would highly recommend this hotel, it really was fantastic value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

this was great stay good room and facilities and a great price but the main let down for us was the ridiculous prices of the the restaurant at night. We where meeting family there and where going to eat there but we didnt everyone else must have thought the same because the restaurant was empty such a waste and an inconvenience having to drive again after a four and half hour drive. The pool looked great and the gym facilities and we will go back being prepared not to eat there at night

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simples-peoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops-manager-9, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, 1 April 2010
It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. I do take on board your comments in reference to the pricing of our menu. May I take this opportunity to say we also have a specials board with other excellent dishes at promotional prices that I hope you will be able to take advantage of on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich
Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing