We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I have stayed in this hotel since May of last year due to work commitments, although I have stayed in better hotels one of the main reasons why I kept staying here were the staff, they are fantastic, friendly, professional and always have a smile on their faces. There are too many names to mention but the one's that come to mind are Stacy, Charlotte and Preshana.

I really hope the manager of this place, whom I have never met in all the time I have stayed there values the efforts they make in the work place. I hope when the staff appraisals are completed that these reviews are taken in to account, I will also be writing a letter to the manager reminding him what great team he has on his hands.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brook38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

Bog standard Holiday Inn witha standard Holiday Inn menu which from the restaurant is pretty poor value for money. Beware of the service charge they sneak onto your bill in the restaurant. I had this charge removed as it is discretionary. Had they not put it on in the first place the staff might have got a tip for average service but as it was they got nothing because it is a cheek to add this charge without your prior knowledge. The menu from the bar is limited but is better value for money (and no service charge).

The room and decor is all a bit tired and needed updating.

Breakfast was very good. If only the rest of the hotel were up to the standard of the breakfast.

I would try the Holiday Inn at Carrow Road or the Marriott at Sprowston Manor (I've reviewed both of these before) before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We both enjoyed our break, clean room, nice staff, and good breakfast. gym/pool excellent . The only grizzle was the car park and grounds which could do with a clean up of litter other wise reccomend this Holiday inn

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robnmegbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay over New Year at this hotel. Our room was clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom very small but well stocked with toiletries and clean towels each day. Television was out of the ark, even Travelodge are providing flat screens with freeview now. The promised freeview at HI was 3 news channels, 1 childrens channel and Sky1. Also free internet in Executive rooms should be provided. Even though it was New Year there was plenty of space in the very large car park. We originally booked B and B but upgraded to a dinner inclusive package on arrival. This cost an extra £7.50 each for each night and was good value. You get a 3 course meal from the set menu which had plenty of choice. Food was of good standard and restaurent staff very efficient. Beware of wine prices though - a bottle of house wine is £19.95, and wasn't even that nice! Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food. the food is replenished and the staff again were excellent at clearing plates and tables. We found all the staff at the hotel helpful and polite and would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Was in Norwich for a full day plant visit and only spent one night at the hotel. Was relieved that the hotel was specklessless clean, particularly the bathroom; as against previous negative reviews. Yes the rooms and bathrooms could be on a small side but for a 3 to 4 stars hotel; Holday Inn had maintained its standard. Breakfast spread was decent, not elaborate but good enough to start the day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivi003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Hotel is old and needs a re vamp. Food is horrible, I ordered chicken with seasonal vegetables in red wine sauce. I didn't looked like chicken the vegetables were soggy and the red wine sauce was watery gravy.
Sink would not drain and I was told it did, the man stood there watch it and said there was no problem. Odd to say the least. Next trip internet did not work.
Its over priced and under resourced.
Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mileage-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This was such disappointing accommodation from when we entered the hotel.
1) We were informed that our booking was not for bed and breakfast and had to pay extra for breakfast. On checking once home our confirmation does NOT state that it is room only as we were informed at reception.
2) We specially requested decaffeinated tea bags and none were supplied.
3) The towel rails in the hotel were not working so our towels remained wet overnight.
4) The bathroom was very cold and damp with mould in evidence.
5) The toilet seat was dirty with excrement between the hinges.
6)Thick dust under the bed.
7) Cobwebs all around the room and in the lamp shades.
8) When we went for the evening meal we were given the special menu to look at in the bar. We then went through to the restaurant and ordered drinks. We then chose our meals and were informed at this late stage that two items on the special menu were not available. Bothe were dishes my husband wanted. I asked if the salmon was a fillet or a steak and the waiter came back from asking the chef with the answer that both are the same! At this point we decided not to eat in the restaurant and paid for our drinks at the bar with the waiter and bar tender speaking about us in their native language which we did not understand, how rude!
9) Our bed was two joined together at different heights.
10) No summer fruits or grapes available for breakfast and bananas all black.
We contacted the hotel re above and were informed our complaints would be looked into. Never heard another word from them.
We would advise anyone visiting the area to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,238 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: Ipswich Road, Norwich NR4 6EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Norwich enjoys an excellent location only 2.5 miles south from Norwich city centre. This Norwich Hotel offers easy access to attractions such as Great Yarmouth, Snetterton; Norwich City FC and Sandringham House & Gardens. This Norwich hotel combines excellent facilities for both business and leisure users, including Kids eat and stay for free*.The Hotel facilities include 119 Air Conditioned hotel Bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas. This hotel in Norwich offers family rooms and accessible rooms too.Holiday Inn, Norwich has 5 meeting rooms which can cater for many requirements for up to 150 people, from Meetings, Christenings, Family Birthdays, Funerals to Weddings. Ample free car parking is available. The Hotel offers a Gym, Sauna, Spa Bath and Indoor Heated 13m Swimming Pool and is complimented by an on-site beauty therapist (pre-booking recommended). The hotel restaurant allows you to dine in an informal atmosphere everyday; serving a full buffet breakfast and extensive dinner menu that caters for everyone. Whether you are looking for sight-seeing, shopping, or exploring the beautiful Norfolk countryside we have it all. Discover the hidden gem of East Anglia that is known as Norfolk. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing