We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie vegan”
Review of River Green Cafe

River Green Cafe
Ranked #70 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Veggie vegan”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent food cooked with real class. Very good choice and specials good as well. Best veggie vegan I have had outside London. Only downside was that table and immediate surrounding could have been cleaner - I think there had been a badly cleared up spill. Otherwise five stars all round. Will definitely return to work through the menu

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajhh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    90
    28
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice whilst on holiday. Really good food. Best chips had for ages, African stew impressive with deep rich sauce and mushroom pastry dishes wholesome and tasty. Service great, friendly and good value too. Ps...I'm not vegetarian.

Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't pass up this one !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am a fully fledged, five star, all singing, all dancing carnivore and very happy to report that although I would be dragged here kicking and screaming, I thoroughly enjoyed my meat free feast. Menu was limited for main course but very nice, sweet to die for and some decent white to chase it all down, I will be dining here again.......nice atmosphere and very friendly, efficient service. I did read the reviews about sticky tables and yes they are but they have just used the wrong varnish and no lack of elbow grease. Pricing was very reasonable. I shall look forward to eating here at the River Green Cafe again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Brilliant !!! ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Came here after being recommended by my sister.. I personally am vegetarian but my girlfriend isn't ... However we were both very very happy with the service and food!! There aren't many vege and vegan restaurants around but this one is awesome!! We are definitely coming back because the food was delicious and also we couldn't decide on what to have so had to come back to order the alternative that we couldn't eat on the day :-)

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thay had 'run out' of vegan Wellington , ovbiously not made to order then . I had the vegetarian Weliington which was nice , nothing special though sort of food that you could really make yourself , i certainly wouldnt call it fine dining . As they had run out of Vegan Wellington the options where limited for my Vegan friend , he ended up having the thai curry which was agian pretty standard . Served with a popadom strangley . Thai curry is a pretty standard meal for a vegan and for the money i can go to the local thai restaurant and get better . Slightly disappointing we did travel to visit this restaurant , probably wouldnt visit again Desserts where nights and good veriety or organic and vegetarian beerrs and wines .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 150kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Green Cafe also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to River Green Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing