We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merge - CLOSED

Merge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a meal at Merge on Wednesday 12 February, we arrived at around 19.00 hrs and there was only three other people eating. At the start the food was only just warm and the pancakes for the crispy duck were like leather. I know it was early in the evening but they had been open from 17.30, later when more people started to arrive the food was hot and a good selection. Desserts, the various cakes on offer were very dry. Drinks also expensive, small Coke and half a Larger £4.80. The staff are all polite and friendly but at the end of the day it's a nice meal which we wanted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    46
    20
    27
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Although there was a goods election of warm food on offer, the evening we went there was a noticeable absence of duck, King Prawns and Sushi - three of the things supposedly available in the evenings (13.99) but not lunchtime which is much cheaper.

There were three musicians playing but the place was so noisy we could hardly hear them yet when the establishment played a happy birthday song for one of the customers it was very loud indeed.

We came, we ate, we left; probably not to return - nuff said.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We took my mum for her birthday and have to say she came home so chuffed not only was the food lovely all you could eat and a variation of Asian food for only£14 Ish but the staff made sure my mum felt very special and sang her happy birthday with a drink and a little dessert and videoed it and gave her a card . They also had paints and let my brother paint her a picture and they wrote her name in Chinese ( my brother is 50 but he loved it !) and she took it home. Great value for money, lovely restaurant and lovely staff but mostly great food. Will def visit again thank you !

Helpful?
Thank Debbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Buffet Style International Foods Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We all went here for a Lunchtime Buffet, and although we have been here many times, we still enjoy the food and the atmosphere here. When we went here last we got tangled up with a Chinese Wedding Ceremony and it was just a little bit of a hustle, so we had to move table as we were surrounded by Wedding Guests, the Management came and apologised to us for the inconvenience, but we did not mind for such an occasion. For the money it is still good value for money, and would certainly go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family gatherings at Merge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have been to Merge many times with my husband and children and we have also had several visits with a larger group of us ( birthdays/family get togethers ) , the food is always lovely, the staff friendly and the restaurant clean.great value for money and we are never put under pressure to hurry up like at some all you can eat places.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madmrssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merge also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing