We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, wide selection of ale's”
Review of Compleat Angler

Compleat Angler
Ranked #348 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Description: Iconic riverside pub in the heart of Norwich, close to the train station, the city centre and Norwich Cathedral. Named after the famous book of the 17th Century, the Compleat Angler is on the river surrounded by moorings and plenty of seating for al fresco drinking and dining.
Restaurant details
Description: Iconic riverside pub in the heart of Norwich, close to the train station, the city centre and Norwich Cathedral. Named after the famous book of the 17th Century, the Compleat Angler is on the river surrounded by moorings and plenty of seating for al fresco drinking and dining.
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, wide selection of ale's”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Located about 5 minutes walk from the train station, on the river, this Pub has an excellent selection of Ales, Cask Ales, and other beers.

The menu is diverse too, with more than the usual pub selections.

They were very busy when we were there with a wedding party, but the Manager went out of his way to apologize, and make us feel at home. A good place to relax and have a cask ale!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fishers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    47
    28
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Riverside View”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We like the Compleat Angler for its prime location by the Wensum river and so near to the railway station. It has been recently redecorated throughout with interesting wallpaper (penny black stamps and library books) but some of the tables are a bit high up and I would not feel secure leaving my bags such a long way down without being supervised.

It is really a sports pub, with lots of big screen TVs showing current sporting events (the Monaco Grand Prix was on when we were there). We did not have food on this occasion so cannot rate the dishes on offer, but as a stopping off point before leaving for the station The Compleat Angler cannot be beaten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Sitting in the sunshine by the river with a glass of something cold, what better way to spend an afternoon in Norwich. Lovely atmosphere, helpful staff, didn't eat so can't comment on food.
Good real ales for those who like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank NannySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loverly puds friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to this place quite by accident. We had a coffee and a pudding, wish we had seen it before as we would have had a meal here. The puddings were delightful and the coffee was great coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful, the locals were also very friendly too. Will definitely go back another on future holidays/

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smurphskiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

So I had the Sausages and Mash...Can be a Great Traditional Dish
Wasn't
Tripadvisor want more review
There's nothing more to say

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Compleat Angler also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing