We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but awful food.”
Review of Woolpack

Woolpack
Ranked #454 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap but awful food.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Don't get me wrong, I like a cheap dinner, but the food here was simply dreadful.

They say that you get what you pay for, but to be honest I still think I was ripped off. I bought the chicken and bacon burger and it came out stone cold. The chips tasted like the Asda smartprice ones, and the bacon tasted like those cheap tinned hotdogs. Needless to say, sometimes it is better to pay the extra...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seanius111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Woolpack, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Seanius111,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Woolpack in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friday night bite to eat”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Friday on spec after work, pub was very busy but didn't take long to get served to place our order, group of five of us. Food was well priced came quickly and tasted really nice.

Staff were friendly, and enjoyed talking to customers creating a good atmosphere, we ended up staying for a couple of hours and making a bit of a night of it.

Overall exceeded my expectations especially when the place looked so busy, but would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Popular Pub”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Friday lunch and we found this friendly,busy pub in Norwich much to our delight. This establishment is part of the John Barras companies. Our first time in one of their pubs but hopefully not the last if all are as good as this one. We had two main meals, I had Gammon, Chips, Peas, Tomato and Egg, the Gammon was thick and not salty. My wife had Scampy and chips served with a side salad,there were eight pieces of Scampy which were of a decent size. Both meals were beautifully cooked, well presented and enjoyed. We had a pint of beer and a lime and lemon along with the meal, the cost was under £20 and really great value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gangan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via Local Picks

Two meals for a tenner, can't beat it and the food is good and plentiful. Friendly staff, very pleasant atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank 15sophie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Visiting Norwich overnight and found this pub after visiting the cinema. My husband and I had a very good meal. Two meals for a tenner, excellent value and well worth a visit.
So if you want a good meal at a reasonable price then this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woolpack also viewed

 

Been to Woolpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing