We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Friendly Service, Good Meal Deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Chef

Little Chef
Ranked #605 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good, Friendly Service, Good Meal Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stopped off here, at services with neighbouring Travel Lodge, quite quiet but this I would prefer, very attentative upon arrival and shown to a table, ordered fish & chips which was on offer at just a fiver! Food came very quickly (or I was too engrossed in my Iphone!), good quality food, well prepared, bargain tea time value at less than £10 for the meal & drink plus free wi-fi! It's not Gordon Ramsey's restaurant but Little Chef isn't trying to be, but to review what is it for I found it very good all round, would use again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    11
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good breakfast at Little Chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I was surprised how good the breakfast was at Little Chef. We were a party of 6 and had a wide variety of food. There wer no complaints from anyone. The food was good and well served. I will use Little Chefs again if this is an example of the brand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Served by Anthony and Claire and the service was fantastic. Greeted as we entered. Quick to take the order, if slightly forgetful, but did ask. Not a problem for me. Quick to get the food.
Not a lot of people in there to be fair, but that hasn't stopped other Little Chef's from taking forever to serve or deliver food.
Claire was bright and breezy when greeting other people coming in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cold inside. Awful service. Never go there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I made the unfortunate mistake of stopping at the Little Chef at Thickthorn Services, on Sunday 28th October. It has never been particularly good with its customer service, but this experience surpassed all the other bad experiences.

When we got there, it was freezing cold inside. Two staff ignored us standing waiting to be seated. We were eventually shown to a table which was dirty, and the waitress went off to get a cloth to wipe it. All she did was wipe the crumbs onto the floor, instead of collecting them and disposing of them in the bin!

We ordered one pot of breakfast tea, one pot of decaffeinated tea, one toasted teacake with butter and jam and a bacon butty. After 10 minutes, the chef called to the waitress who had taken our order, and asked what our order was. She had spent all that time talking to some people at another table who were making a complaint to her. A different waitress came with the pots of tea, and I quote "I think that's the decaffeinated one, I'm not sure"!!! This really wasn't good enough!! My daughter is not allowed caffeine at the moment. Luckily, I can tell the difference so I was able to taste and give her the correct pot. When the food came, it was OK, although I did have to remind the waitress that I asked for jam and not marmalade. When trying to pay the bill, my daughter's bill for her refreshments was £5.48 and she gave the waitress £10.50. The waitress tried to give her back the 50p, saying that she couldn't work out how much change to give her!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 653AnnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Traditional road side diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

As I was staying in the Travelodge next door I came in to the Little Chef for one of their famous all day breakfasts. It seems to me the prices have come down a lot and are now extremely good value for money. Hot, tasty cooked breakfast serviced quickly in a good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lares09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Chef also viewed

Hethersett, Norwich
Little Melton, Norwich
 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Little Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing