We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Hospitality Look Elsewhere......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“For Hospitality Look Elsewhere......”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Don't be fooled by the blarney on the website. The staff in this hotel need a real shake-up. Don't you realise that you are in the hospitality trade and that, in turn, means looking at least a tiny bit hospitable! Sullen faces and an off-hand manner does not make for an enjoyable stay.
The "double" room was not large enough to swing a cat (in my opinion a 4 foot bed is a three-quarter size bed). So parts of the hotel may be listed, but that does not give the management the right to offer a room where the window is rotten and will not close without leaving a large gap. Tea-making facilities are at shoulder height on the wall (Health & Safety please note!) and our particular room had paint flaking off and the odour of boiled cabbage coming up from the kitchen's extractor fans.
No wonder they demand payment on arrival - I thought that a bit strange, and in future will ask to see any room before I consent to pay.
Breakfast was standard hotel fare and we opted to dine out at the very good Indian restaurant a short distance from the hotel - where the staff smile and nothing is too much trouble.
When we checked out no one asked about our stay. When I gave them my opinion of the room, the receptionist merely said she would "feed back to the manager".
Asked to be emailed as to what his response was - still waiting to hear back.
If you need a hotel in this area, I'd opt for the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinnaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    189
    149
    105
    83
See reviews for
150
268
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Were visiting Norwich for the weekend and this was the perfect place. The evening carvery was great value for money. The room was perfect for our needs, a double with an adjoining room. WiFi was most welcomed by our teenagers! Very spacious and spotless bathroom as was the bedroom. The hotel was very warm and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful, good quality bacon and sausages. We would definitely return, and perhaps book one of the lodges which looked very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Having wrestled with the 'cheap chain' options in Norwich, many of which neither included parking nor breakfast, I booked The Oaklands Hotel for a two night stay for four of us through Hotels.com uk.

Cost was £82.50 per night for an executive lodge (main room with roomy sofa bed, kitchenette, desk and massive TV; door to semi private garden terrace; double bedroom with TV, radio/ipod dock, trouser press, hair dryer etc; sparkling bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower) plus full English breakfast buffet - excellent value! Quite a lot less than it would have cost us to do the cheap chain plus breakfast plus parking and the staff could not have been more helpful.

We liked it so much we're going back again next week!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

The hotel is superbly placed for visiting Norwich and the Broads. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient; the room was well decorated and furnished, clean, and comfortable. The ensuite provided plenty of space, was modern and well laid out, and appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. However, the tiles and grouting round the bath and the taps and nozzles showed that the cleaning was not thorough.

While the public areas on the ground floor were adequate, the decor was rather dated and did not match the quality of the room.

The self service buffet part of breakfast was excellent but the cooked element was nowhere near as good. It was served on a cold plate, some parts were overcooked, the food looked as though it had been dumped on the plate rather than arranged, and was generally very oily.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, miles walk from the rail station and the city centre.
In the summer, a very nice location, adjacent to the river, but not at this time of the year.
I was in room 31, which was located at the rear of the hotel.
It was minus 6 outside, and the bedroom window would not close, so very cold throughout the night.
The mattress was totally worn out, very tired and al springs popping. A very uncomfortable nights stay.
The TV was a tiny 14inch with only 5 channels, what hotel in this day and age has a 14inch tv with only 5 channels?
Overall very poor value for money.
Would i stay again?
NO

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARKSANDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Stayed for 7 nights for my work, clean and tidy hotel, good value, although a large car park several times I had to park in the drive rather then car park. Hotel does very cheap meals so popular for non residents. Dont stay at a weekend if there is a function, for 2 nights running had music until 12, although the staff do let you know.
Rooms were reasonable, although TVs are very small.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdzzzPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hard to find, hotel is actually in Bourne St Andrew, on the outskirts Norwich but none of the hotel literature or travel sites state this. Once there everything is superb - service, reception, room & food. Very close to Norwich city centre. Hotel is clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Room excellent - king size bed, bathroom clean, modern and good size. Perhaps TV reception could be improved - a minor detail. Breakfast buffet style - superb and plentiful (real sausages). No hesitation in going again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw70a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
5.4 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Address: Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England (Formerly The Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing