We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oaklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Stone Town, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“much better than we expected”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff to be complimented, pleasant, willing and prompt. Bedroom spacious and bathroom clean. Food was a special Menu for a Coach Tour. Each dinner menu was presented at breakfast for choices to be made. Breakfast choice from the English cooked breakfast buffet looked tasty. My choice of a daily special was, apart from one morning, really special, e.g. pancake with maple syrup and a slice of bacon and bagel with creamed cheese and smoked salmon, another morning. Much appreciated considering the reasonable cost of this Hotel stay. Only adverse comments I could make would be, T.V. sound a little too low and although I slept very well the mattress hadn't a lot of life left in it. I would go back!

Room Tip: if you have mobility problems discuss with hotel when booking. Some of my friends were booked into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beezwacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    177
    140
    94
    77
See reviews for
139
249
34
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Would like to stay that our stay at this hotel was very good,my son had his wedding reception here and everything was excellent.It was a package deal and it was a real bargain and we could not have asked for anything better.Had a room overnight and room was very clean.Would definateley recommend this hotel for wedding package and also to stay if you are visiting the area.We live in Norwich so wouldnt normally stay this close to home but would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed just one night for business. Room was of a decent size, however the TV was tiny in comparison and when I switched it on, only one channel was working. The bed had seen better days with a lumpy mattress.

Bathroom was fine, although there was no hot water in the morning!

Always the small detail that makes such a large impression.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireMsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed for 1 night on a KGB deal which included a meal and half bottle of wine. Sat nav let us to a totally different place miles away which was very annoying, we had to phone for directions which was very confusing but got there eventually. The room was fine, large comfortable bed but very small T.V The meal was tasty but we had to wait ages for service and for the meal to arrive. The dining room was very busy with customers who had turned up en masse to eat the carvery meals which were incredibly cheap.They finished serving the carvery at 7 , but it all seemed to have a knock on effect for the diners that arrived later. The 2 young waitresses were rushed off their feet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had a very lovely room, impeccably clean and well presented. The evening meal was delicious although the £15 advance meal deal didn't really have any benefit as it just contributed towards the final bill, so I ended up paying the difference the same day that I paid the £15 - it would have been a lot less fuss just to have paid for the meal! The only real gripe I have is that some of the staff were a bit too preoccupied with their own conversations, and I was sometimes made to feel like I was interrupting their day - some customer service training required I think, particularly for the younger members of staff.
But overall a nice stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex-couple-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visited The Oaklands after purchasing a deal through Groupon. We stayed in a lodge a short distance from the main building and were very happy with the accommodation. Unfortunately the same couldn't be said for the food.

We'd read some reviews of the food before travelling and would have eaten elsewhere had meals not been included as part of our package. Its fair to say our expectations were fairly low - and we weren't disappointed. The tiger prawn starter was bland and flavourless, and served on a bed of burnt stir-fried veg which was swimming in oil. The fish cakes weren't much better, and resembled a grey, mushy paste coated in breadcrumbs and accompanied by a processed tomato sauce. For mains, the lamb casserole, priced at a ridiculously expensive £15, looked like dog food and was arrived in a thick, cloying sauce, (although the veg it came with were fine). The tuna steak was over-cooked, but edible.

But the best was still to come. We ordered sticky toffee pudding, which is grandly described by The Oaklands as their "world famous dessert". What arrived was a dry sponge accompanied by two dollops of ice cream, but sadly lacking any type of sauce. At The Oaklands, it would seem the "sticky" and "toffee" elements of this traditional British favourite just aren't that important.

We really enjoy eating out and have been lucky enough to dine in some really excellent places, many of which have been much more fairly priced than The Oaklands. Unfortunately here, the prices listed in the menu are absolutely no reflection on the quality of the dishes you'll receive.

Suffice to say, we decided to give breakfast a miss and picked up a snack from a nearby shop instead.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LongWayFrom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Oaklands in one of the luxury lodges and it was delightful. When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and attentive. Our lodge was lovely and clean with a separate bedroom and lounge. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate which were lovely. There were rose petals on the bed and a mesh bag with a candle and oils. There was an outside balcony which we couldn't use unfortunately because of the bad weather but this and the outdoor pool would be lovely in the summer. We ate both our evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, both were excellent with a good choice of menu, the rib eye steak was lovely. Breakfast was buffet style but I actually prefer this as you can eat as much as you want. The only criticism that I would make is that the wallpaper in the restaurant has food stains all over it a good clean wouldn't go amiss. I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice relaxing break with or without the kids. Also note if you want a reasonable wedding the hotel offer a package for £499 for the afternoon and evening reception Monday to Thursday excellent!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a luxury lodge they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
130 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
622 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaklands Hotel

Property: The Oaklands Hotel
Address: 89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you as we invite you to join us at the Oaklands Hotel Norwich and enjoy the charm of a family owned hotel combining a modern style with a great location. The hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment of their dining room and bar including an extension featuring a sky line and byfold doors leading onto the stunning new terrace. All bedrooms have also been refurbished offering an array of modern and stylish rooms with a unique finish. Situated on the outskirts of Norwich (just over one mile from the City centre), the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed surroundings, a variety of bedrooms to suit all guests, chilled out bar and terrace, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop whether you are visitng for a leisure break, business or a wedding. A visit to the Oaklands Hotel is always a memorable one whether your stay is for business or pleasure, for a formal occasion or one of our fantastic breaks. A friendly welcome and attentive customer service, comfortable and uniquely decorated bedrooms and delicious food is what we offer our guests - and the reason why they return time and time again. And, you don't have to be staying the night to enjoy our charm - join us for breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch or dinner - or just take time out to chill out in our stunning bar or beautiful terrace with an ice-cold drink. Breakfast is included in our bedroom rates and we also offer guests free car parking and free internet access. We're sure you'll want to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Norwich
The Oaklands Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing